Depeche Mode, '101'

Milestones is a periodic feature marking important album releases, concerts and figures in the history of ’80s college rock.

RELEASE: Depeche Mode, 101

PERSONNEL: Dave Gahan (vocals), Martin Gore (keyboard, guitar, vocals), Alan Wilder (keyboard), Andrew Fletcher (keyboard)

RELEASE DATE: March 13-14, 1989

BACKSTORY: Depeche Mode’s first-ever live album was recorded at the band’s mammoth June 18, 1988, concert at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, Calif., during the Music for the Masses tour. The two-disc document and accompanying D.A. Pennebaker documentary/concert film (see clip above, and several more below) in many ways captured DM as it crossed from widespread cult stardom to flat-out mainstream success, a move the group would complete with 1990’s blockbuster Violator. The live album also serves as a greatest hits set recapping the band’s first decade, sprinkled with some crowd noise and a lot of “Good evening, Pasadena!”

REISSUED? Yes, Mute Records released a hybrid SACD edition of 101 in 2003, a set that contained a 5.1 Surround mix of the entire Rose Bowl concert.

See full tracklist and more clips from Depeche Mode’s ‘101’ after the jump…

Tracklist: Depeche Mode, 101

Disc 1
1. “Pimpf”
2. “Behind the Wheel”
3. “Strangelove”
4. “Sacred”
5. “Something to Do”
6. “Blasphemous Rumours”
7. “Stripped”
8. “Somebody”
9. “Things You Said”

Disc 2
1. “Black Celebration”
2. “Shake the Disease”
3. “Nothing”
4. “Pleasure Little Treasure”
5. “People are People”
6. “A Question of Time”
7. “Never Let Me Down Again”
8. “A Question of Lust”
9. “Master and Servant”
10. “Just Can’t Get Enough”
11. “Everything Counts”

Video: Highlights from Depeche Mode’s “101” film




Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,