Album News, Digital Music, Tracklist — November 14, 2012 at 8:12 am

Mission of Burma to receive new 2CD best-of ahead of catalog reissue series

The U.K.’s Fire Records next month will release a new 2CD career-spanning overview of resurrected Boston post-punk legends Mission of Burma, compiling 29 tracks from both halves of the band’s career to serve both as an introduction for new fans and a preface to the label’s upcoming full-catalog reissue series.

The 29-track Learn How: The Essential Mission of Burma is due out Dec. 3 in the U.K. and features one disc of material from the band’s original era, when it released the EP Signals, Calls and Marches and the full-length Vs., and a second disc covering its ongoing 2000s-era reunion, which so far has spawned four studio albums.

As for the label’s planned reissues, no details have yet been announced.

Below, stream the classic “That’s When I Reach For My Revolver” and check out the tracklist.



Tracklist: Mission of Burma, Learn How: The Essential Mission of Burma

CD 1
1. “Academy Fight Song”
2. “That’s When I Reach for My Revolver”
3. “Fame and Fortune”
4. “This Is Not a Photograph”
5. “Secrets”
6. “Trem Two”
7. “New Nails”
8. “Dead Pool”
9. “Mica”
10. “The Ballad of Johnny Burma”
11. “Einstein’s Day”
12. “That’s How I Escaped My Certain Fate”
13. “Learn How”
14. “Peking Spring” (Live)
15. “Heart 0f Darkness” (Live)

CD 2
1. “Dirt”
2. “The Setup”
3. “2Wice”
4. “Spider’s Web”
5. “Let Yourself Go”
6. “Donna Sumeria”
7. “13”
8. “Innermost”
9. “1, 2, 3 Partyy!”
10. “Comes Undone”
11. “One Day We Will Live There”
12. “Second Television”
13. “What They Tell Me”
14. “ADD in Unison”





One Comment

  1. Michael Toland

    This will be the third catalog reissue for this band, though if Fire’s Giant Sand reissues are any indication, this one will encompass the band’s Matador albums as well. Still, I think I’ll stick with my Rykodisc reissues.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.