The Cure in Mexico

The Cure returned to Mexico last night for the second time this year, and while the band’s set didn’t quite match the epic length — 50 songs over the course of 4 hours and 16 minutes — of its show on Robert Smith’s birthday in April, it did feature more surprises, including a heavy dose of The Top and the live debut of Head on the Door-era B-side “Stop Dead.”

And that’s not to say last night’s show in Monterrey, Mexico, wasn’t long: The band did perform 43 songs in a concert that ran well more than 3 hours. As the ever-dependable Chain of Flowers notes, after live dates this spring and summer that found The Cure sticking to a relatively static, hits-heavy setlist, last night’s return to Mexico featured a number of surprises bound to please diehard fans:

  • First-ever performance of “Stop Dead” (see video below), which appeared as a B-side on certain versions of the “Inbetween Days” and “Close to Me” singles
  • First performance of “Birdmad Girl,” off The Top, in 29 years
  • First performance of “Give Me It,” also off The Top, in 26 years
  • First performance of Head on the Door closer “Sinking” in nine years

The inclusion of so much material off The Top — the band played 7 of the album’s 10 songs, bookending the main set with cuts off the album — as well as the resurrection and debut of material from the Head on the Door and Kiss Me eras no doubt lends credence to rumors The Cure is preparing to stage concerts in the “Trilogy” (Pornography/Disintegration/Bloodflowers) and “Reflections” (Three Imaginary Boys/Seventeen Seconds/Faith) veins that will find the band performing The Top, The Head on the Door and Kiss Me.

The Cure plays an arena show in El Paso, Texas, on Thursday, a second headlining set at the Austin City Limits Music Festival on Saturday and then another festival set at the Voodoo Experience in New Orleans on Nov. 3.  Smith has hinted, on the band’s website, that there may be “one more ‘special appearance’ show on the East Coast” this year as well.

Below, check out the full setlist — plus video as it surfaces (via Chain of Flowers).


Setlist: The Cure, Monterrey Arena, Monterrey, Mexico, 10/8/13

1. “Shake Dog Shake”
2. “Fascination Street”
3. “A Night Like This”
4. “The End of the World”
5. “Lovesong”
6. “Push”
7. “Inbetween Days”
8. “Just Like Heaven”
9. “From the Edge of the Deep Green Sea”
10. “Sinking”
11. “Pictures of You”
12. “Lullaby”
13. “High”
14. “Birdmad Girl”
15. “The Walk”
16. “Stop Dead”
17. “Sleep When I’m Dead”
18. “Mint Car”
19. “Friday I’m in Love”
20. “Doing the Unstuck”
21. “Bananafishbones”
22. “Want”
23. “The Hungry Ghost”
24. “Wrong Number”
25. “One Hundred Years”
26. “Give Me It”
27. “The Top”

28. “Treasure”
29. “Other Voices”
30. “Charlotte Sometimes”
31. “Play For Today”
32. “A Forest”

33. “Dressing Up”
34. “The Lovecats”
35. “Catch”
36. “The Caterpillar”
37. “Close To Me”
38. “Hot Hot Hot”
39. “Let’s Go To Bed”
40. “Why Can’t I Be You?”
41. “Boys Don’t Cry”
42. “10:15 Saturday Night”
43. “Killing An Arab”


The Cure, “Stop Dead” — Monterrey, Mexico, 10/8/13


The Cure, “Birdmad Girl” — Monterrey, Mexico, 10/8/13


The Cure, “Sinking” — Monterrey, Mexico, 10/8/13


The Cure, “Treasure” — Monterrey, Mexico, 10/8/13


The Cure, “A Night Like This” — Monterrey, Mexico, 10/8/13


The Cure, “Dressing Up” — Monterrey, Mexico, 10/8/13






Tags: , , , , ,