Robyn Hitchcock album

Robyn Hitchcock this August will release a brand-new, Joe Boyd-produced album titled The Man Upstairs that will be “part well-known favorites, part personal discoveries, and part originals,” according to Yep Roc Records. The first offering off the record is an acoustic take on the Psychedelic Furs’ classic “The Ghost in You,” which you can stream in full below.

According to Yep Roc:

Modern standards like Roxy Music’s “To Turn You On,” The Doors’ “The Crystal Ship” and The Psychedelic Furs’ “The Ghost In You” are interlaced with lesser-known gems from such pals as Grant-Lee Phillips (“Don’t Look Down”) and I Was A King (“Ferries”), the latter featuring harmony vocals and guitar from the Norwegian indiepop combo’s own Anne Lise Frøkedal. Meanwhile, new Hitchcock originals like “Trouble In Your Blood” and “Comme Toujours” stand among his most fragile and heartfelt, his stark vocal and guitar cast by Boyd against simple, autumnal backing from longtime collaborators Jenny Adejayan (cello), Charlie Francis (piano), and the aforementioned Frøkedal (harmonies).

Check out the first single and full tracklist below:



Tracklist: Robyn Hitchcock, The Man Upstairs

1. “The Ghost In You”
2. “San Francisco Patrol”
3. “To Turn You On”
4. “Trouble In Your Blood”
5. “Somebody To Break Your Heart”
6. “Don’t Look Down”
7. “Ferries”
8. “Comme Toujours”
9. “The Crystal Ship”
10. “Recalling The Truth”




Tags: , ,