Album News, Tracklist — June 29, 2017 at 7:04 am

The Waterboys announce hip-hop influenced double album ‘Out Of All This Blue’

The Waterboys today formally announced the release of the band’s new double record, a 23-song collection called Out Of All This Blue that’s due out Sept. 8 and features “echoes of classic R&B, country, soul and funk … underpinned by modern hip-hop production values and rhythms.”

The album is produced by bandleader Mike Scott, and will be released by BMG digitally and on double CD and double vinyl, as well as deluxe triple CD and triple vinyl editions with 11 bonus tracks. The record was made in Dublin and Tokyo, and features string and brass sections arranged and conducted by Trey Pollard of The Spacebomb Collective.

In a statement announcing the release of the Waterboys’ “most exploratory recording yet,” Scott says:

Out Of All This Blue is 2/3 love and romance, 1/3 stories and observations. I knew from the beginning I wanted to make a double album, and lucky for me – and I hope the listener – the songs just kept coming, and in pop colours.”

Earlier this year, Scott had revealed the album is heavy on love songs, and will feature longtime compatriot Steve Wickham on fiddle, as well as Muscle Shoals bassist David Hood and Hammond organist Paul Brown, who both played on the band’s 2015 album Modern Blues.

As for the hip-hop influence — we’re guessing that’ll be heard in a track like “Hiphopstrumental 4 (Scatman)” — Scott previously had said he’s “not finding anything new” in rock, but that, “The thing I love about hip-hop is that even though it’s been around for 35 years, it’s still a changing frontier.”

A full U.S. tour is expected later this year to support the album.

See the full tracklist below.


Tracklist: The Waterboys, Out Of All This Blue

1. “Do We Choose Who We Love”
2. “If I Was Your Boyfriend”
3. “Santa Fe”
4. “If the Answer Is Yeah”
5. “Love Walks In”
6. “New York I Love You”
7. “The Connemara Fox”
8. “The Girl in the Window Chair”
9. “Morning Came Too Soon”
10. “Hiphopstrumental 4 (Scatman)”
11. “The Hammerhead Bar”
12. “Mister Charisma”
13. “Nashville, Tennessee”
14. “Man, What a Woman”
15. “Girl in a Kayak”
16. “Monument”
17. “Kinky’s History Lesson”
18. “Skyclad Lady”
19. “Rokudenashiko”
20. “Didn’t We Walk on Water”
21. “The Elegant Companion”
22. “Yamaben”
23. “Payo Payo Chin”

Bonus disc:
1. “The Memphis Fox”
2. “If the Answer Is Yeah” (Alternate Version)
3. “If I Was Your Boyfriend” (Zeenie Mix)
4. “Epiphany on Mott Street”
5. “Didn’t We Walk on Water” (JessKav Mix)
6. “Santa Fe” (Instrumental)
7. “Payo Payo Chin (Tokyo Hotel)”
8. “Return to Roppongi Hills”
9. “Nashville, Tennessee” (Live)
10. “Mister Charisma” (Alternate Version)
11. “So in Love with You”





  1. “This Is The Sea” and “Fisherman’s Blues” define a period of my life for me, but I must confess some skepticism about this one.

    But, we shall see. Or, rather, hear.

  2. I agree. Those two records and the first one are all amazing. However, The Waterboys releasing a hip hop love songs record sounds terrible at best. I hope that I am wrong.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.