The Monochrome Set’s initial run to be compiled in ‘1979-1985: Complete Recordings’ box set

Tapete Records next year will release a box set compiling the complete recordings of the original six-year run of The Monochrome Set, a collection of 68 songs spread across six discs that collects the influential U.K. post-punk act’s first four albums and a host of singles.

Simply titled 1979-1985: Complete Recordings, the box set will be released Feb. 9 on CD and vinyl editions; the CD box set will be limited to 500 copies, while the LP set will be limited to 700 copies. Both are now available to be pre-ordered through the label’s website.

The collection compiles the band’s first four records — 1980’s Strange Boutique and Love Zombies, 1982’s Eligible Bachelors and 1985’s The Lost Weekend — and adds two discs’ worth of singles and B-sides.

The Monochrome Set originally broke up following the release of The Lost Weekend, only to reunite, in varying incarnations, for much of the 1990s, then again in 2008 and 2010. The latter version of the band has released several albums, including, most recently, last year’s Cosmonaut.

Below, see the full tracklist for the forthcoming box set.


Tracklist: The Monochrome Set, 1979-1985: Complete Recordings

CD1/LP1: Strange Boutique
1. “The Monochrome Set (I Presume)”
2. “The Lighter Side Of Dating”
3. “Expresso”
4. “The Puerto Rican Fence Climber”
5. “Tomorrow Will Be Too Long”
6. “Martians Go Home”
7. “Love Goes Down The Drain”
8. “Ici Les Enfants”
9. “The Etcetera Stroll”
10. “Goodbye Joe”
11. “The Strange Boutique”

CD2/LP2: Love Zombies
1. “Love Zombies”
2. “Adeste Fideles”
3. “405 Lines”
4. “B-I-D Spells Bid”
5. “R.S.V.P.”
6. “Apocalypso”
7. “Karma Suture”
8. “The Man With The Black Moustache”
9. “The Weird, Wild And Wonderful World Of Tony Potts”
10. “In Love, Cancer?”

CD3/LP3: Eligible Bachelors
1. “The Jet Set Junta”
2. “I’ll Scry Instead”
3. “On The 13th Day”
4. “Cloud 10”
5. “The Mating Game”
6. “March Of The Eligible Bachelors”
7. “The Devil Rides Out”
8. “Fun For All The Family”
9. “The Midas Touch”
10. “The Ruling Class”
11. “The Great Barrier Riff”

CD4/LP4: The Lost Weekend
1. “Jacob’s Ladder”
2. “Sugarplum”
3. “Cargo”
4. “Take Foz”
5. “Letter From Viola”
6. “Don’t Touch”
7. “The Twitch”
8. “Wallflower”
9. “Starry Nowhere”
10. “Boom Boom”
11. “Cowboy Country”

CD5/LP5: Singles I
1. “He’s Frank”
2. “Alphaville”
3. “Eine Symphonie Des Grauens”
4. “Lester Leaps In”
5. “The Monochrome Set”
6. “Mr. Bizarro”
7. “He’s Frank (Slight Return)”
8. “Silicon Carne”
9. “Fallout”
10. “Surfing S.W.12”
11. “405 Lines”
12. “Fiasco Bongo”

CD6/LP6: Singles II
1. “Ten Don’ts For Honeymooners”
2. “Straits Of Malacca”
3. “J.D.H.A.N.E.Y.”
4. “Cast A Long Shadow”
5. “The Bridge”
6. “The Jet Set Junta”
7. “Love Goes Down The Drain”
8. “Noise (Eine Kleine Symphonie)”
9. “Andiamo”
10. “Le Boom Boom”
11. “Yo Ho Ho (and three bottles of rum)”
12. “Big Ben Bongo”
13. “Wallflower (Saloon Bar Mix)”





Tags: , ,


About the author

More posts by | Visit the site of Slicing Up Eyeballs




Add a comment