Album News, Reunions — January 13, 2011 at 12:10 am

The Dead Milkmen’s ‘The King in Yellow,’ first new album in 15 years, due this spring

The Dead Milkmen, circa 2009

Philadelphia’s Dead Milkmen — the reunited slacker-punks behind iconic college radio staples “Bitchin’ Camaro” and “Punk Rock Girl” — recently finished recording their first new album in more than 15 years, a record tentatively titled The King in Yellow that’s expected out sometime this spring.

Wednesday, the band — featuring original members Joe Jack Talcum, Dean Clean and Rodney Anonymous, plus new bassist Dan Stevensannounced on its website that it recorded 10 songs in early November and seven more in early December at separate two-day sessions at two different Philadelphia studios (see photos here and here).

Rodney Anonymous recently told Philebrity: “We’ll be finishing up the final mixes in February and, hopefully, releasing the CD in either March or April. Then we plan to skip town for awhile until this whole thing blows over.” Song titles include “Meaningless Upbeat Happy Song,” “13th Century Boy,” “She’s Affected,” “Melora Says,” “Solvents for Home and Industry,” “Caitlin Childs” and “Can’t Relax.”

The Milkmen originally disbanded in 1995, after a dozen years of touring and recording . In 2004, following the suicide of bassist Dave Blood, the group — aided by new bassist Stevens — reunited for a pair of benefit concerts in their late bandmate’s memory. In late 2008, the Milkmen reunited once again with Stevens to play the Fun Fun Fun Fest in Austin, Texas, and have continued to play sporadically ever since.

The new album, which the band initially had hoped to release by the end of 2010, will be the first new studio collection from the Milkmen since 1995’s Stoney’s Extra Stout (Pig).


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *