Album News, Reunions, Tracklist — May 8, 2012 at 6:41 am

Redd Kross releasing ‘Researching the Blues’ — first new album in 15 years — this August

Redd Kross — the ’80s cult act founded by brothers Jeff and Steven McDonald that scored some minor college-radio hits as ’90s major-label alt-rockers — have signed to legendary indie imprint Merge Records and this August will deliver Researching the Blues, the band’s first new album in 15 years.

The new album, the band’s first since 1997’s Show World, arrives Aug. 7 and will features 10 songs in 32 minutes. According to Merge, the new album is the band’s favorite record, with Steve McDonald noting, “It has the most singular artistic vision of any record we’ve done. It’s just 10 really fucking awesome songs that have the ability to move you in many different ways.”

The McDonalds announced the reunion of Redd Kross’ Neurotica-era line-up in 2006, and the band has played sporadically ever since. The band has two current live dates on the books: a May 18 gig in Minneapolis and a May 19 festival date in Chicago that’ll feature a full performance of 1980 debut EP Red Cross and 1982 full-length Born Innocent.


Tracklist: Redd Kross, Researching the Blues
1. “Researching the Blues”
2. “Stay Away From Downtown”
3. “Uglier”
4. “Dracula’s Daughters”
5. “Meet Frankenstein”
6. “One of the Good Ones”
7. “The Nu Temptations”
8. “Choose to Play”
9. “Winter Blues”
10. “Hazel Eyes”


Redd Kross tour dates:

May 18: Triple Rock Social Club, Minneapolis, MN
May 19: HoZac Records Blackout Fest, Chicago, IL



Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *