New Releases — June 4, 2012 at 7:41 am

New releases: Dexys, Ministry, David Bowie, Propaganda, Germs, Bob Mould’s Sugar

Record Rack: A round-up of the week’s new albums, expanded reissues and/or box sets, appearing each Monday on Slicing Up Eyeballs.


ARTIST : Dexys
RELEASE: One Day I’m Going to Soar
Frontman Kevin Rowland’s reactivated Dexys Midnight Runners — the New Wave act still best known for its 1982 smash “Come On Eileen” — this week releases, in the U.K., its first new album in 27 years this June. The album, now under the shortened name Dexys, was preceded by the track “Nowhere is Home.”


ARTIST : Ministry
 The Very Best of Fixes and Remixes
With Al Jourgensen having relaunched his industrial-metal juggernaut, he this week releases a new 15-track compilation of remixes and covers, including tracks mixed by Powerman 5000, Alexis K and Razed In Black, plus new versions of Eurythmics’ “Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This)” and Rolling Stones’ “Paint it Black”


ARTIST : David Bowie
RELEASE: The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust 
 The classic 1972 album receives an expanded 40th anniversary reissue this week, with a newly remastered edition of the album on both CD and a 5.1 Surround mix on DVD, plus bonus bonus 2003 mixes of “Moonage Daydream” (instrumental), “The Supermen,” “Velvet Goldmine” and “Sweet Head.”


ARTIST : Propaganda
RELEASE: Wishful Thinking
BACKSTORY: ZTT Records this week reissues, in the U.K., the German synthpop group’s 1985 remix album, featuring the original eight tracks plus six bonus cuts — five of which are previously unreleased. Plus, the set comes with a 12-page booklet featuring rare photos and an excellent new essay from compiler Ian Peel.   


ARTIST : Sugar
RELEASE: Beaster
BACKSTORYDemon Music Group  this week, in the U.K., releases the second of three reissues coming from Bob Mould’s acclaimed post-Hüsker Dü trio, a CD/DVD expanded edition of the band’s 1992 EP. In the U.S., the Sugar reissues come in July with less bonus material (see tracklist here).


ARTIST : Germs
BACKSTORY: The lone studio album, originally released in 1979 and produced by Joan Jett, from the West Coast punk legends is reissued on CD this week, with the original 16-track album supplemented by a previously unreleased bonus track picked by guitarist Pat Smear: the original album mix of “Caught in My Eye.”



  1. Demon have also announced a box set of Mould’s post-Sugar solo albums, haven’t seen a mention of this on the site. All with bonus tracks.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.