Last night, bassist Peter Hook marked the 30th anniversary of Joy Division frontman Ian Curtis’ death by performing the band’s classic 1979 debut album, Unknown Pleasures, in its entirety — plus assorted other Joy Division and Warsaw songs — at his Manchester club FAC251 The Factory.

According to the NME’s review of the gig — which will be repeated tonight — Hook and his band The Light opened the show with “At a Later Date,” a track written when Joy Division was still called Warsaw, before proceeding to play Joy Division’s four-song debut EP, An Ideal for Living, in order. (And judging by the videos posted above and below, Hooky ceded bass playing duties — to his son, a reader notes in the comments below.)

Following a couple more early songs, Hook and Co. dove into the main course: Unknown Pleasures, with former  Happy Mondays backing vocalist Rowetta pitching in on “Insight and “New Dawn Fades.” The group encored with “Transmission,” featuring A Certain Ratio’s Simon Topping on vocals, and, of course, “Love Will Tear Us Apart.”

Following the show, Hook told the NME that he’d been to visit Curtis’ grave that morning to “say hello to him and see how he was.” He added:

“Now some people will say, like they did about this show, that you shouldn’t do it and then a lot of people are thinking that you should do it. So it was nice that we had a club full of people tonight who think we should be doing it and the others can just fuck off.”

Former Stone Roses bassist Gary “Mani” Mounfield, a bandmate of Hook’s in triple-bass project Freebass, attended the Unknown Pleasures gig, and afterward tweeted, “Just returned from hookys unknown pleasures tribute to ian Curtis gig. Good to hear those tunes again, especially the early Warsaw stuff!!”

See last night’s setlist and more video after the jump…

Joy Division, 'Unknown Pleasures'

Setlist: Peter Hook’s The Light, FAC251 The Factory, Manchester, UK, 5/18/10

1. “At A Later Date”
2. “Warsaw”
3. “No Love Lost”
4. “Leaders Of Men”
5. “Failures”
6. “Digital”
7. “Glass”

Unknown Pleasures
8. “Disorder”
9. “Day Of The Lords”
10. “Candidate”
11. “Insight”
12. “New Dawn Fades”
13. “She’s Lost Control”
14. “Shadowplay”
15. “Wilderness”
16. “Interzone”
17. “I Remember Nothing”

Encore 1
18. “Transmission”

Encore 2
19. “Love Will Tear Us Apart”



Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,