On the heels of last year’s Bona Drag reissue, Morrissey in April will release a new greatest-hits collection — the 18-track The Very Best of Morrissey — featuring an unreleased, Siouxsie-less version of “Interlude,” and will precede the set with a single backed by two unreleased Viva Hate outtakes.

Due out April 25 in the U.K. on CD and double-vinyl via EMI’s relaunched Major Minor imprint, the new comp features singles, album tracks and B-sides, plus U.S. radio mixes of “Tomorrow” and “My Love Life,” the singer’s nine-minute version of “Moon River” and a previously unreleased take of “Interlude” without duet partner Siouxsie Sioux, according to an EMI news release posted by fan site True To You (see full tracklist below).

The new set also will feature a bonus DVD with 11 promotional videos — including clips for “November Spawned a Monster,” “The Last of the Famous International Playboys” and “Everyday is Like Sunday” — and a live performance of “I’ve Changed My Plea to Guilty” from the “Jonathan Ross Show” in 1990 (see that performance below).

The week before, on April 18, the former Smiths frontman will release Your Arsenal track “Glamorous Glue” as a single in three formats: limited-edition 7-inch in a picture sleeve, limited-edition 7-inch picture disc and a CD single. The singles will be backed with two “never before heard” outtakes from the Viva Hate sessions: “Safe, Warm Lancashire Home,” which will appear on the 7-inches, and “Treat Me Like a Human Being,” on the CD.

See ‘The Very Best of Morrissey’ tracklist after the jump…

Tracklist: Morrissey, The Very Best of Morrissey

1. “The Last Of The Famous International Playboys”
2. “You’re Gonna Need Someone On Your Side”
3. “The More You Ignore Me, The Closer I Get”
4. “Glamorous Glue”
5. “Girl Least Likely To”
6. “Suedehead”
7. “Tomorrow” (U.S. remix radio edit)
8. “Boxers”
9. “My Love Life” (U.S. mix)
10. “Break Up The Family”
11. “I’ve Changed My Plea To Guilty”
12. “Such A Little Thing Makes Such A Big Difference”
13. “Ouija Board, Ouija Board”
14. “Interesting Drug”
15. “November Spawned A Monster”
16. “Everyday Is Like Sunday”
17. “Interlude” (Morrissey solo version) *
18. “Moon River” (Extended 9:39 version)

* Previously unreleased

Bonus DVD:

1. “The Last Of The Famous International Playboys”
2. “The More You Ignore Me, The Closer I Get”
3. “Glamorous Glue”
4. “Suedehead”
5. “Tomorrow”
6. “Boxers”
7. “My Love Life”
8. “I’ve Changed My Plea To Guilty” (Live, Jonathan Ross Show) *
9. “Interesting Drug”
10. “November Spawned A Monster”
11. “Everyday Is Like Sunday”
12. “Sunny”

* Previously unavailable on DVD



Tags: , , , , , ,