The Call

Anthemic modern-rock act The Call — best known for ’80s radio hits “The Walls Came Down,” “I Still Believe” and “Let the Day Begin” — reunited for the band’s first concerts in 20 years over the past two nights, performing in San Francisco and Los Angeles with Robert Levon Been of Black Rebel Motorcycle Club filling in for his late father Michael Been.

Original members Scott Musick, Tom Ferrier and Jim Goodwin were joined by Robert Levon Been on bass and vocals at Slim’s in San Francisco on Thursday night and at The Troubadour in Los Angeles on Friday night. Below, you can check out video of several tracks — including “I Still Believe,” “Let the Day Begin” and show-closer “Uncovered” — from San Francisco, as well as the full setlist from Los Angeles (it’s not immediately clear whether the band played the same set both at both concerts).

Michael Been died of a heart attack in 2010 while on tour with BRMC; he had produced the band’s then-current album, Beat the Devil’s Tattoo, and was serving as the group’s sound engineer.

The band has launched a Pledge Music campaign to fund a CD/DVD release of this week’s reunion shows, and gauge interest in a possible career-spanning box set.


Setlist: The Call, The Troubadour, Los Angeles, Calif., 4/19/13

1. “Everywhere I Go”
2. “I Still Believe”
3. “I Don’t Wanna”
4. “Floating Back”
5. “Into the Woods”
6. “Turn a Blind Eye”
7. “Oklahoma”
8. “You Were There”
9. “Tore the Old Place”
10. “Red Moon”
11. “Swin in the Ocean”
12. “Let the Day Begin”
13. “The Mourning”
14. “Modern Romans”
15. “What Happened to You”
16. “Think It Over”
17. “Same Ol Story”
18. “You Run”
19. “The Walls Came Down”
20. “Uncovered”


The Call, “I Still Believe” (San Francisco)


The Call, “Let the Day Begin” (San Francisco)


The Call, “You Were There” (San Francisco)


The Call, “Uncovered” (San Francisco)






Tags: , , ,