Kitchens of Distinction, 'Folly'

Reunited dreampop trio Kitchens of Distinction today revealed the title (Folly), artwork and tracklist of its first new studio album in 19 years — the band ‘s fifth overall and first since 1994′s Cowboys and Aliens — which is due out Sept. 30 and is now available for pre-order from 3 Loop Music in a variety of CD, LP and digital packages.

The 10-song album finds frontman Patrick Fitzgerald — who, in recent years, has performed as Stephen Hero — reuniting with guitarist Julian Swales and drummer Dan Goodwin.

Of the new record, Fitzgerald writes:

“These songs came together over a two-year period which began in June 2011 and finished during April 2013. As with all songs by Kitchens of Distinction, new and old, they began with the musical structure first, the tune and lyrics coming later. With these songs I wrote the initial music, with KOD guitarist Julian Swales shaping them, suggesting tempo changes, structure changes, and providing the trademark sonic embellishments of his galactic guitar cascades. Dan Goodwin, original KOD drummer, added percussion and rhythm programming support. They were recorded in my studio in Derbyshire and at Julian’s studio in Brighton. The songs were mixed with Pascal Gabriel in April 2013 when I was recovering from a nephrectomy and winter would not leave us.”

Fitzgerald also wrote a lengthier post about the record on his blog.

The new album is available in a variety of bundles that include a T-shirt and a special handmade, illustrated lyric book, each of which is numbered and the first 200 copies of which will be signed by Fitzgerald.

Below, check out the full tracklist and another audio sample. And head over to 3 Loop to pre-order.


Tracklist: Kitchens of Distinction, Folly

1. “Oak Tree”
2. “Extravagance”
3. “Disappeared”
4. “Photographing Rain”
5. “Japan To Jupiter”
6. “Wolves / Crows”
7. “No Longer Elastic”
8. “I Wish It Would Snow”
9. “Tiny Moments, Tiny Omens”
10. “The Most Beautiful Day”







Tags: , , , , ,