Tears For Fears, 'The Hurting'

As we first noted last week, Tears For Fears’ landmark debut album The Hurting is due for a 30th anniversary reissue later this year, and now comes the details: The deluxe four-disc box set will include the original album, a disc of remixes and B-sides, a collection of BBC radio sessions and the long-out-of-print “In My Mind’s Eye” concert film on DVD.

As our friends at SuperDeluxeEdition point out, the Hurting reissue — both the box set and a 2CD edition — is due out Oct. 21 via Universal Music, and the first 500 people who pre-order the four-disc set via Universal’s Box Set Store website will receive a free “Change” 7-inch in a special black-and-white sleeve.

The box set also will include a replica of Tears For Fears’ 1983 tour program and a new 34-page hardback book featuring an essay about the album and new interviews of Roland Orzabal and Curt Smith by SuperDeluxeEdition’s Paul Sinclair, as well as never-before-seen photos.

The Hurting — which came in at No. 4 on Slicing Up Eyeballs’ Top 100 Albums of 1983 list — has been reissued once before, in 1999, and that was with just four bonus tracks (remixes and extended versions of “Pale Shelter,” “The Way You Are,” “Mad World” and “Change”).

Read more about the reissue at SuperDeluxeEdition.


Tracklist: Tears For Fears, The Hurting: 30th Anniversary Edition

CD 1: The Hurting
1. “The Hurting”
2. “Mad World”
3. “Pale Shelter (You Don’t Give Me Love)”
4. “Ideas As Opiates”
5. “Memories Fade”
6. “Suffer The Children”
7. “Watch Me Bleed”
8. “Change”
9. “The Prisoner”
10. “Start Of The Breakdown”

CD 2: B-Sides and Remixes
1. “Suffer The Children” (7″ Version)
2. “Pale Shelter (You Don’t Give Me Love)”
3. “The Prisoner” (B-side)
4. “Ideas As Opiates” (B-side)
5. “Change” (New Version)
6. “Suffer The Children” (Remix)
7. “Pale Shelter (You Don’t Give Me Love)” (Extended Version)
8. “Mad World” (World Remix)
9. “Change” (Extended Version)
10. “Pale Shelter” (Extended Version)
11. “Suffer The Children” (Instrumental)
12. “Change” (7″ Edit)
13. “Wino” (B-Side)
14. “The Conflict” (B-Side)
15. “We Are Broken” (B-Side)
16. “Suffer The Children” (Promo CD Version)

CD 3: Live Sessions (Box Set Only)
Peel Session 01.09.1982
1. Ideas As Opiates
2. Suffer The Children
3. The Prisoner
4. The Hurting
Jensen Session 20.10.1982
5. Memories Fade
6. The Prisoner
7. The Start Of The Breakdown
8. The Hurting
From ‘The Way You Are’ single
9. Start Of The Breakdown (Live)
10. Change (Live)

DVD: “In My Mind’s Eye – Live At Hammersmith Odeon” (Box Set Only)
1. “Start Of The Breakdown”
2. “Mothers Talk”
3. “Pale Shelter”
4. “The Working Hour”
5. “The Prisoner”
6. “Ideas As Opiates”
7. “Mad World”
8. “We Are Broken”
9. “Head Over Heels”
10. “Suffer The Children”
11. “The Hurting”
12. “Memories Fade”
13. “Change”






Tags: , , , ,