Ramones fans who never got around to picking up the band’s key early albums on CD will have an easy way to do that later this month when Rhino Records releases a new box set collecting the band’s first six records: Ramones (1976), Leave Home (1977), Rocket to Russia (1977), Road to Ruin (1978), End of the Century (1980) and Pleasant Dreams (1981).

As MusicTAP points out, the six-disc box set The Sire Years 1976-1981 is due out Oct. 29. As currently priced at Amazon.com, it’s a pretty good deal, too: $38.35 for the box, or a little more than $6 a CD.

Rhino hasn’t announced details of the box set, so it’s not yet clear whether these are straight-up issues of the original albums, the 2002 bonus-laden remasters or something entirely new. Also not yet known: whether there will be a second Sire Years box, since the Ramones’ years on Sire actually extended out another five albums, through 1989’s Brain Drain.

UPDATE: We’ve check in with Rhino, and the discs on this box set will feature the 2002 remasters of the original albums, but without the bonus material.






Tags: , , , , , ,