the cure

Photo via caitlynridenour on Instagram

The Cure tonight performed what’s been billed as its final show of 2013, a headlining performance at New Orleans Voodoo Music Experience that saw Robert Smith and Co. drop yet another shocker on fans: the first-ever live performance of “Burn,” the band’s album-opening contribution to the soundtrack to 1994’s “The Crow.”

According to Chain of Flowers, Smith introduced the song by saying, “Here’s another song about New Orleans. One we’ve never played.” Tonight’s debut of “Burn” follows the first-ever performance of Head on the Door-era B-side “Stop Dead” (which also was played tonight) in Monterrey, Mexico, last month, as well as the return of rarely aired tracks like “Birdmad Girl” and  “Give Me It.”

Below, check out video of that performance via spyterus, as well as tonight’s setlist.

UPDATE: There’s an even better video here.


The Cure, “Burn” — Voodoo Music Experience, New Orleans, La., 11/3/13


Setlist: The Cure, Voodoo Music Experience, New Orleans, La., 11/3/13

1. “Shake Dog Shake”
2. “Fascination Street”
3. “From the Edge of the Deep Green Sea”
4. “The End of the World”
5. “Lovesong”
6. “Just Like Heaven”
7. “Burn”
8. “Pictures of You”
9. “Lullaby”
10. “High”
11. “Hot Hot Hot!!!”
12. “The Caterpillar”
13. “The Walk”
14. “Stop Dead”
15. “Push”
16. “In Between Days”
17. “Friday I’m in Love”
18. “Doing the Unstuck”
19. “Bananafishbones”
20. “Want”
21. “The Hungry Ghost”
22. “Wrong Number”
23. “One Hundred Years”
24. “Give Me It”

25. “The Lovecats”
26. “Close to Me”
27. “Let’s Go to Bed”
28. “Why Can’t I Be You?”
29. “Boys Don’t Cry”






Tags: , , , ,