Aztec Camera

Aztec Camera’s 1983 debut album High Land, Hard Rain — home to classic single “Oblivious” — will receive a (slightly) belated 30th anniversary reissue in North America in early 2014, a 2CD set that expands on last year’s European re-release with 16 bonus tracks that include B-sides, remixes, alternate versions and a host of live radio session material.

Due out Feb. 4, the Domino reissue will be available as both a 2CD set and a single LP, with the vinyl edition including downloads not just of the full album, but the second disc of bonus material as well. Additionally, the first 400 people who pre-order the vinyl pressing via Domino will receive a bonus 7-inch with four additional rarities (see full tracklists below).

Last year, Demon Music Group reissued all six of the Roddy Frame-led Scottish indie-pop act’s albums in the U.K., each featuring a varying amount of bonus material. The label’s High Land reissue featured seven bonus tracks tacked onto the end of the album, most of which appear on the upcoming 2CD set.

There’s no indication yet whether Domino plans to reissue further Aztec Camera titles.

Earlier this month, Frame performed High Land, Hard Rain at a series of U.K. shows;  you can see a performance of “Oblivious” from one of those gigs below.


Tracklist: Aztec Camera, High Land, Hard Rain

1. “Oblivious”
2. “The Boy Wonders”
3. “Walk Out to Winter”
4. “The Bugle Sounds Again”
5. “We Could Send Letters”
6. “Pillar to Post”
7. “Release”
8. “Lost Outside the Tunnel”
9. “Back on Board”
10. “Down the Dip”

CD 2/LP Download
1. “Pillar to Post” (Original Single Version)
2. “Queen’s Tattoos”
3. “Orchid Girl”
4. “Haywire”
5. “Walk Out to Winter” (Tony Mansfield 7″ Version)
6. “Set the Killing Free”
7. “Back on Board” (Live on CFNY)
8. “We Could Send Letters” (Live on CFNY)
9. “Walk Out to Winter” (Kid Jensen Session)
10. “Down the Dip” (Kid Jensen Session)
11. “Back on Board” (Kid Jensen Session)
12. “Release” (Kid Jensen Session)
13. “Walk Out to Winter” (John Brand Unreleased Single Version)
14. “Walk Out to Winter” (Tony Mansfield 12″ Version)
15. “Oblivious” (Colin Fairley Remix)
16. “Oblivious” (Langer/Winstanley Remix)


Bonus 7″ (First 400 pre-orders of vinyl edition)

A1. “The Boy Wonders” (Capital Radio Session)
A2. “Release” (Capital Radio Session)
B1. “We Could Send Letters” (C81 Version)
B2. “The Bugle Sounds Again” (Bedroom Demo)


Roddy Frame, “Oblivious,” Glasgow Royal Concert Hall, 12/4/13






Tags: , , ,