8-Bit Operators

The 8-Bit Operators collective next month follows up its tributes to Kraftwerk, Devo and The Beatles with a new collection of chiptune covers of Depeche Mode classics, a 15-track collection featuring “highly musical, lo-bit video-game hardware re-imaginings” of some of the band’s best-known songs from the past 30 years.

Due out June 10, the collection features acts such as GOTO80, gameboymusicclub, ComputeHer, crashfaster and Naomi Sampler, with tracks covered ranging from “But Not Tonight” and “Behind the Wheel” to “Boys Say  Go,” “Dreaming of Me,” “Never Let Me Down Again” and more.

The album, to be released on CD and digitally, is available for pre-order now.

Below, check out an album sampler and the full tracklist. And be sure to check back on Tuesday, June 3, when we premiere the full stream of the album here at Slicing Up Eyeballs.


Tracklist: 8-Bit Operators, Depeche Mode Tribute: Enjoy the Science

1. Bacalao, “But Not Tonight”
2. Herbert Weixelbaum, “Enjoy The Silence”
3. GOTO80, “Boys Say Go”
4. Matt Nida feat. Lisa Schumann, “Policy of Truth”
5. ComputeHer, “Strangelove”
6. gwEm, “Martyr”
7. Laker feat. ONTBG, “Clean”
8. 8-Bit Operators, “Photographic” (Megamix)
9. Patokai, “New Life”
10. Aonami, “(Set Me Free) Remotivate Me”
11. crashfaster, “Never Let Me Down Again”
12. gameboymusicclub, “Dreaming Of Me”
13. Naomi Sample, “Somebody”
14. Yerzmyey, “I Just Can’t Get Enough”
15. Inverse Phase, “Behind The Wheel”




Tags: , ,