The Specials

The three original studio albums from the legendary 2-Tone ska act The Specials — 1979’s The Specials, 1980’s More Specials and 1984’s In the Studio, the latter of which was released under the band’s original name, The Special AKA — will be reissued this March in expanded 2CD sets featuring non-album singles, live material, instrumentals and Peel sessions.

Due out March 30 via 2 Tone Records/Warners Catalogue, the deluxe editions feature the three original albums remastered by Tim Debney, and each features a second disc packed with bonus tracks.

Extras include:

  • The Specials: The Too Much Too Young live EP plus a previously-unavailable-on-CD concert recorded for the BBC at the Paris Theatre in December 1979.
  • More Specials: Non-album singles, including the classic “Ghost Town,” John Peel session recordings, and various extended and single version.
  • In the Studio:  Non-album singles “The Boiler” and “Jungle Music,” a Peel session recorded in 1983 and six instrumental versions of album tracks, including “Nelson Mandela.”

According to the announcement of the reissues, all three will include “new and extensive sleevenotes by Lois Wilson, as well as rare and previously unseen Chalkie Davies’ photos of the band, some of which have been used to create variations on the albums’ original cover photos.”

The Specials reunited in 2008 without co-founder Jerry Dammers.  In 2013, co-vocalist Neville Staples left the band. The group is currently set to perform its first-ever concert in Mexico on March 12.

See full tracklists below:



Tracklist: The Specials, The Specials

1. “Gangsters”
2. “A Message To You, Rudy”
3. “Do The Dog”
4. “It’s Up To You”
5. “Nite Klub”
6. “Doesn’t Make It Alright”
7. “Concrete Jungle”
8. “Too Hot”
9. “Monkey Man”
10. “(Dawning Of A) New Era”
11. “Blank Expression”
12. “Stupid Marriage”
13. “Too Much Too Young”
14. “Little Bitch”
15. “You’re Wondering Now”

Too Much Too Young EP (live) by The Special AKA:
1. “Too Much Too Young”
2. “Guns Of Navarone”
3. “Skinhead Symphony”
a) “Long Shot Kick The Bucket”
b) “Liquidator”
c) “Skinhead Moon Stomp”
BBC In Concert At the Paris Theatre (15/12/79) by The Specials:
1. “(Dawning Of A) New Era”
2. “Do The Dog”
3. “Rat Race”
4. “Blank Expression”
5. “Rude Buoys Outa Jail”
6. “Concrete Jungle”
7. “Too Much Too Young”
8. “Guns Of Navarone”
9. Nite Klub”
10. “Gangsters”
11. Medley:
a) “Long Shot Kick The Bucket”
b) “Skinhead Moonstomp”



Tracklist: The Specials, More Specials

1. “Enjoy Yourself (It’s Later Than You Think)”
2. “Man At C&A”
3. “Hey, Little Rich Girl”
4. “Do Nothing”
5. “Pearl’s Café”
6. “Sock It To ‘Em J.B.”
7. “Stereotypes/Stereotypes – Pt. 2”
8. “Holiday Fortnight”
9. “I Can’t Stand It”
10. “International Jet Set”
11. “Enjoy Yourself (Reprise)”

Singles, b-sides and rarities by The Specials:
1. “Rat Race”
2. “Rude Buoys Outa Jail”
3. “Stereotypes Pts.1 & 2” (John Peel session)
4. “International Jet Set” (single version)
5. “Rude Boys Outa Jail” (version) (featuring Neville Staples aka Judge Roughneck)
6. “Do Nothing” (single version) (featuring Rico with the Ice Rink String Sounds)
7. “Maggie’s Farm”
8. “Raquel”
9. “Why?” (extended version)
10. “Friday Night, Saturday Morning”
11. “Ghost Town” (full version)
12. “Sea Cruise” (John Peel session) (featuring Rico)
13. “You’re Wondering Now” (Kid Jensen session)



Tracklist: The Special AKA, In the Studio

1. “Bright Lights”
2. “Lonely Crowd”
3. “What I Like Most About You Is Your Girlfriend”
4. “House Bound”
5. “Night On The Tiles”
6. “Nelson Mandela”
7. “War Crimes”
8. “Racist Friend”
9. “Alcohol”
10. “Break Down The Door”

Rarities by The Special AKA:
1. “The Boiler” (Rhoda and The Special AKA )
2. “You Just Can’t Get A Break”
3. “Jungle Music” (Rico and The Special AKA )
BBC Peel Session 12/09/83 by The Special AKA:
4. “Lonely Crowd”
5. “Alcohol”
6. “Bright Lights”
Instrumentals by The Special AKA:
7. “Break Down The Door”
8. “Racist Friend”
9. “War Crimes”
10. “Theme From The Boiler”
11. “Bright Lights”
12. “Nelson Mandela”






Tags: , , ,