Reissues, Tracklist — October 16, 2009 at 12:51 pm

Pylon’s 1983 sophomore album ‘Chomp’ to be reissued with four bonus tracks

Pylon, circa 1980

The second album from Pylon — beloved early-’80s Athens, Ga., post-punk contemporaries of R.E.M. and the The B-52’s — will be reissued next week in digitally remastered and expanded form by LCD Soundsystem mastermind James Murphy’s DFA Records.

Originally released in 1983 as Chomp, the now-retitled Chomp More features the album’s original 12 tracks, plus four bonus cuts, including the original 7-inch mix of “Crazy” — which R.E.M. covered for the B-side of “Driver 8” — as well as the band’s own mixes of “Yo-Yo” (the so-called “male version”) and “Gyrate” and the 1982 single “Four Minutes.”

The Chomp reissue is the second from dance-punk label DFA, which similarly re-released 1980’s Gyrate as Gyrate+ in 2007. Unfortunately, however, the new reissue comes eight months after guitarist Randy Bewley died of a heart attack at age 53.

Meanwhile, Pylon’s singer, Vanessa Briscoe Hay, has a new band, Supercluster, that just released its debut CD, Waves. The album features some of Bewley’s final guitar work.

See full tracklist for Pylon’s ‘Chomp More’ after the jump…

Pylon, 'Chomp'

Tracklist: Pylon, Chomp More

1. “K”
2. “Yo-Yo”
3. “Beep”
4. “Italian Movie Theme”
5. “Crazy”
6. “M-Train”
7. “Buzz”
8. “No Clocks”
9. “Reptiles”
10. “Spider”
11. “Gyrate”
12. “Altitude”
13. “Crazy” (Single Version)*
14. “Yo-Yo” (Male Version)*
15. “Gyrate” (Pylon Mix)*
16. “Four Minutes”*

*Bonus tracks


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *