Tracklist — November 24, 2010 at 11:34 pm

R.E.M. reveals ‘Collapse Into Now’ tracklist


The members of R.E.M. employed a decidedly old-school medium to announce the full tracklist of Collapse Into Now, the band’s forthcoming 15th studio album: They revealed the titles of the record’s 12 songs via their snail-mail fanclub newsletter, which began hitting subscribers’ mailboxes today.

The tracklist, which can be seen below, had been previewed earlier this month in a number of press interviews with bassist Mike Mills, who revealed several song titles and news that Eddie Vedder, Patti Smith, Lenny Kaye and Peaches all contribute.

Among the tracks specifically mentioned by Mills: “It Happened Today” features Pearl Jam’s Vedder on vocals; “Alligator Aviator Autopilot Antimatter” has electro artist Peaches on vocals and Smith sideman Kaye on guitar; “All the Best” finds Mills and Michael Stipe sharing lead vocals; and the closing track, “Blue,” includes vocals from Smith, who previously sang on R.E.M.’s 1996 single “E-Bow the Letter.”

No release date has been announced, but the Jacknife Lee-produced album — the follow-up to 2008’s Accelerate — is expected some time in spring 2011.

See tracklist for R.E.M.’s ‘Collapse Into Now’ after the jump…

Tracklist: R.E.M., Collapse Into Now

1. “Discoverer”
2. “All The Best”
3. “Uberlin”
4. “Oh My Heart”
5. “It Happened Today” (featuring Eddie Vedder)
6. “Every Day Is Yours To Win”
7. “Alligator Aviator Autopilot Antimatter” (featuring Peaches and Lenny Kaye)
8. “Walk It Back”
9. “Mine Smell Like Honey”
10. “That Someone Is You”
11. “Me, Marlon Brando, Marlon Brando and I”
12. “Blue” (featuring Patti Smith)


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *