Album News, Tracklist — June 20, 2011 at 6:00 am

Tones on Tail ‘Weird Pop’ vinyl best-of to feature rare and unreleased tracks

Tones on Tail

For a band with just one album and a handful of EPs and singles, Bauhaus spinoff Tones on Tail already has been the subject of more than its share of compilations, and now comes another: Weird Pop, a double-vinyl best-of that features at least one previously unreleased cut and several other rarities.

According to a variety of online retailers, the 2LP, 19-track set is due out July 12 on Beggars Archive, although the imprint has yet to formally announce the release. According to product listings, Weird Pop once again repackages most of Tones on Tail’s 1984 album Pop, plus a number of tracks from the band’s EPs and singles.

But for collectors, the real draw are the “previously undiscovered rarities like the original (and better) version of ‘Performance,’ a never before released studio version of ‘Heartbreak Hotel,’ the single edit of ‘Go!,’ plus an extended version of ‘Twist.'”

Bauahus’ Daniel Ash and Kevin Haskins enlisted roadie Glenn Campling to form Tones on Tail around the time of that band’s 1983 breakup, although the group — which spawned the oft-sampled single “Go!” — didn’t last long. After disbanding Tones on Tail in 1984, Ash and Haskins reunited with Bauhaus bandmate David J to form Love and Rockets.

See tracklist for Tones on Tail’s ‘Weird Pop’ after the jump…

Tones on Tail, 'Weird Pop'

Tracklist: Tones on Tail, Weird Pop

1. “Go!” (Single Edit)
2. “War”
3. “Christian Says”
4. “There’s Only One”
5. “Performance” (Original Beck Session)
6. “Copper”
7. “Heartbreak Hotel” (Studio Version)
8. “Burning Skies”
9. “OK, This Is The Pops”
10. “Instrumental”
11. “Movement Of Fear”

1. “A Bigger Splash”
2. “The Never Never”
3. “Real Life”
4. “Rain”
5. “Lions”
6. “When You’re Smiling”
7. “Twist” (Extended)
8. “You, The Night and The Music”


Ride "Nowhere: 20th Anniversary Edition"


  1. It would be great if Beggars released this on CD too! Hopefully, after the vinyl release!

  2. Yeah, not releasing this on cd, doesn’t make sense…..

  3. So it’s like the last 3 greatest hits, only with 1 1/2 more new tracks.

    BTW how come poor Campling got the crop in the photo!?!?

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *