Digital Music, Reunions — July 27, 2020 at 4:00 am

Stream Folk Devils’ ‘Forever’ EP — post-punk group’s first new music in 33 years

London’s Folk Devils, a blues-splashed post-punk act originally active from 1983 to ’87, are back with their first new music in 33 years, a three-song EP called Forever that’s due out in September but which can be streamed right now exclusively at Slicing Up Eyeballs.

The Forever EP will be released both as a 10-inch — on limited-edition translucent red vinyl — and digitally on Sept. 18 through Optic Nerve Recordings, and it can be pre-ordered now via Bandcamp.

The EP features two new songs, fiery rockers “Forever” and “My Slum Soul,” and a new version of old live favorite “Ink Runs Dry,” which the band once recorded for a John Peel session.



Folks Devils reunited in 2016 after Nick Clift — who had played with the band’s late frontman Ian Lowery in Ski Patrol and a short-lived Folks Devils lineup in 1987 — compiled the retrospective Beautiful Monsters (Singles & Demo Recordings 1984-86) for release on Optic Nerve.

That prompted original Folk Devils guitarist Kris Jozajtis and bassist Mark Whiteley to reunite with Clift, a guitarist, and the band’s late-period drummer John Hamilton, plus enlist Dave Hodgson, formerly of Parting Shots, to sing in place of Lowery, who died in 2001.

They began playing concerts, including shows with Inca Babies, The Cravats and The Membranes, and now have recorded new music. The forthcoming EP was recorded at London’s Konk Studios iand mixed and co-produced by Grammy-winning engineer Rik Simpson.



Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *