Album News — March 28, 2022 at 6:05 pm

Listen: The Dream Syndicate debuts “Where I’ll Stand” off new album due in June

The Dream Syndicate | Photo by Chris Sikich

Paisley Underground-era rockers The Dream Syndicate will release their fourth album since reuniting a decade ago this June, and you can get the first taste of the band’s new music via “Where I’ll Stand,” which is both lead single and lead-off track on the record.

Fire Records will release the 10-song Ultraviolet Battle Hymns and True Confessions on June 10, and the album is available for pre-order now via Bandcamp and other retailers.

Bandleader Steve Wynn says of the new single, which you can hear below: “It feels like an attempt — via the lyrics and the circular chord progression — to impose some kind of order and logic on a world that was severely lacking in both respects at the time.”

Wynn  put The Dream Syndicate back together in 2012, enlisting original drummer Dennis Duck, bassist Mark Walton (who came on board after 1984’s Medicine Show) and guitarist Jason Victor. (Keyboardist Chris Cacavas, formerly of Green on Red, is now an official member of the band, too.)

The reunited Dream Syndicate released their first album in 29 years in 2017, a record titled How Did I Find Myself Here?, and follow-ups These Times in 2019 and The Universe Inside in 2020.

Hear the new single and see the new album’s tracklist below:




The Dream Syndicate, Ultraviolet Battle Hymns and True Confessions

1. “Where I’ll Stand”
2. “Damian”
3. “Beyond Control”
4. “The Chronicles of You”
5. “Hard to Say Goodbye”
6. “Every Time You Come Around”
7. “Trying to Get Over”
8. “Lesson Number One”
9. “My Lazy Mind”
10. “Straight Lines”




Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *