Reissues, Vinyl — February 19, 2023 at 4:17 pm

Pixies prep “Doolittle” live album, 10-inch of “Purple Tape” demos for Record Store Day


The Pixies will release two new vinyl titles on Record Store Day this year, a double live album recorded on the band’s 2009 tour performing Doolittle and a 10-inch collection of early demos on purple vinyl — though it appears the latter is only being released in the U.K.

The 25-song Doolittle — Live In Brussels 2009 will be released on 140-gram green-and-blue translucent vinyl by the Demon Music label on April 22 at participating independent record stores in the U.S. and U.K. It will be packaged in a “wide-spine sleeve featuring UV spot-gloss detailing and printed inner sleeves.”

The live set, recorded in Brussels, Belgium, has been newly remixed by the band’s producer Tom Dalgety from soundboard multi-tracks. The show found the Pixies opening with a run of Doolittle-era B-sides before performing the 1989 album in full, then encoring with additional classics.

The Pixies also are releasing a limited-edition, purple-vinyl 10-inch called Demos with a printed inner sleeve on the Cooking Vinyl label — though it only appears on the U.K.Record Store Day list, and not the U.S. list.

Demos is basically a retitled version of the Pixies EP that was released in 2002, which contained the nine demos left over from the band’s original 17-track demo known as “The Purple Tape.” (Eight of the songs on “The Purple Tape” became the Pixies’ 1987 debut EP Come On Pilgrim.)

The Pixies EP was released on vinyl back in 2002, but this is the first time it’s appearing as a 10-inch, purple or otherwise. And it has different artwork than that original release.

Now in its 16th year of celebrating independent music retailers, Record Store Day is back to a single day — April 22 — following the pandemic-era “drops” that spread the event over multiple months the last couple years.

Head over to and to see full lists of exclusive, limited-run and “RSD First” releases along with participating independent record stores in the U.S. and the U.K., respectively.

Below are the tracklists for the Pixies’ two Record Store Day releases:


Pixies, Doolittle — Live in Brussels 2009

Side A
1. “Dancing The Manta Ray”
2. “Weird At My School”
3. “Bailey’s Walk”
4. “Manta Ray”
5. “Debaser”
6. “Tame”
7. “Wave Of Mutilation”

Side B
1. “I Bleed”
2. “Here Comes Your Man”
3. “Dead”
4. “Monkey Gone To Heaven”
5. “Mr. Grieves”
6. “Crackity Jones”
7. “La La Love You”

Side C
1. “No. 13 Baby”
2. “There Goes My Gun”
3. “Hey”
4. “Silver”
5. “Gouge Away”
6. “Wave Of Mutilation (UK Surf)”

Side D
1. “Into The White”
2. “U-Mass”
3. “Vamos”
4. “Gigantic”
5. “Where Is My Mind?”


Pixies, Demos

Side A
1. “Broken Face”
2. “Build High”
3. “Rock A My Soul”
4. “Down To The Well”
5. “Break My Body”

Side B
1. “Here Comes Your Man”
2. “I’m Amazed”
3. “Subbacultcha”
4. “In Heaven”





Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *