Album News, Video — April 8, 2023 at 3:26 pm

Cowboy Junkies return with “Such Ferocious Beauty” — hear first single “What I Lost”

Cowboy Junkies

Canadian alt-folkies Cowboy Junkies are back with a new studio album that’s due to be released in June, a 10-song collection called Such Ferocious Beauty — which is the group’s fourth album since ending a six-year break in recording in 2018.

The band — Margo Timmins, Michael Timmins, Peter Timmins and Alan Anton — will release the new album June 2 on Cooking Vinyl. It can be pre-ordered now on CD, vinyl and digital formats (, Apple Music).

The first track to be released off the album — “What I Lost” — can be heard below via its music video.

Of that video, Michael Timmins writes:

“The new video was created by brother Pete and features our Dad as well as some super 8 footage of our Dad and Mom and family from the late 50’s and early 60’s. It’s an intense video for an intense song about an intense subject.”

The group also talks about the new song on the latest episode of their podcast “Music Is The Drug.”

Check out the video and the album’s full tracklist:



Cowboy Junkies, Such Ferocious Beauty

1. “What I Lost”
2. “Flood”
3. “Hard To Build. Easy To Break.”
4. “Circe And Penelope”
5. “Hell Is Real”
6. “Shadows”
7. “Knives”
8. “Mike Tyson (Here It Comes)”
9. “Throw A Match”
10. “Blue Skies”





One Comment

  1. Miss Sequoia

    Please show respect to the Deaf and Hard of Hearing community who enjoys music (with lyrics). Please add in all your music videos closed captions, easy to do. Thank you.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *