Reissues — April 22, 2023 at 2:36 pm

Chris Connelly’s “Phenobarb Bambalam” gets expanded reissue with remixes, live cuts

Chris Connelly

The reborn Wax Trax! Records will release an expanded reissue of Revolting Cocks and Ministry singer Chris Connelly’s 1992 solo album Phenobarb Bambalam on CD and vinyl next month, supplanting the original record with a second disc of B-sides, mixes and live tracks.

The label is releasing the new edition of Phenobarb Bambalam on May 15 as a 2CD set and several vinyl iterations, including single-LP pressings on black and swirled vinyl, and 2LP sets on black and clear vinyl, the latter of which comes in a limited-edition bundle that includes a T-shirt.

Check out the pre-order options available through Wax Trax! Records.

Phenobarb Bambalam has been fully remastered for the reissue from the original analog tapes. The first 200 orders through Wax Trax! of the 2LP bundle will include a signed and numbered eight-page booklet featuring Connelly’s previously unpublished poem “Percodan Bambalam,” which was the genesis of the 1992 album.

The reissue also includes “brutally honest liner notes by Chris explaining how and why the album came to be,” according to the label.

Check out the tracklist below.


Chris Connelly, Phenobarb Bambalam

1. “The Whistle Blower”
2. “July”
3. “Souvenir From A Dream”
4. “Come Down Here”
5. “Too Good To Be True”
6. “Heartburn”
7. “No Lesser Of Two Evils”
8. “Ignition Times Four”
9. “Dirtbox Tennessee”

1. “July” (Edit)
2. “This Edge Of Midnight (Sparse)”
3. “Heartburn” (Tucker Mix)
4. “The Last Of Joy” (Secret Mix)
5. “Come Down Here” (Fini Tribe Mix)
6. “Heartburn” (Live on KCRW)
7. “July” (Live on KCRW)
8. “The Hawk, The Butcher, The Killer Of Beauties” (Live on KCRW)
9. “Trash” (Live – Spoken Word)






Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *