Honors — May 3, 2023 at 6:48 am

Kate Bush to be inducted into Rock and Roll Hall of Fame — but Joy Division/New Order don’t make cut

Kate Bush

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame’s Class of 2023 will include performers Kate Bush, Rage Against the Machine, Sheryl Crow, Missy Elliot, George Michael, Willie Nelson and The Spinners — but the first-time hybrid nomination of Joy Division and New Order didn’t make the cut.

Other 2023 inductees include DJ  Kool Herc and Link Wray for musical influence and Chaka Kahn, Al Kooper and Bernie Taupin for musical excellence. “Soul Train” creator Don Cornelius will receive the Ahmet Ertegun Award.

The other 2023 nominees that didn’t make the cut include A Tribe Called Quest, Soundgarden, The White Stripes, Cyndi Lauper, Warren Zevon and Iron Maiden.

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame induction ceremony is scheduled for Nov. 3 at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn, New York. Organizers say the event will return to Cleveland, site of the Rock Hall, in 2024.

Here are this year’s inductees:

Performer Category 

Kate Bush
Sheryl Crow
Missy Elliott
George Michael
Willie Nelson
Rage Against the Machine
The Spinners

Musical Influence Award 

DJ Kool Herc
Link Wray

Musical Excellence Award 

Chaka Khan
Al Kooper
Bernie Taupin

Ahmet Ertegun Award 

Don Cornelius

Artists are eligible for nomination into the Rock Hall beginning 25 years after their first release. Kate Bush previously was nominated in 2017, 2021 and 2022, and her latest bid to enter the Rock Hall follows last year’s burst of popularity following the use of “Running Up That Hill” in Netflix’s “Stranger Things.”

Of her induction, Bush wrote on her website today:

I have to admit I’m completely shocked at the news of being inducted into the Hall of Fame!  It’s something I just never thought would happen. Thank you so much to everyone who voted for me. It means a great deal that you would think of me. It’s such a huge honour. Now as part of the initiation ceremony I get to find out about the secret handshake… there is one, right?

— Kate

This was the first nomination for Joy Division and New Order, the band Joy Davison became following the suicide of frontman Ian Curtis. The nominated members included Curtis, Gillian Gilbert, Peter Hook, Bernard Sumner and Stephen Morris, according to the Rock Hall website.

Last year, the Rock Hall inducted Duran Duran and Eurythmics, while The Go-Go’s and Kraftwerk were part of the Class of 2021. In 2020, Depeche Mode and Nine Inch Nails were admitted into the Rock Hall and, in 2019, The Cure was inducted alongside Roxy Music, Janet Jackson, Radiohead and more.







  1. Kate Bush and George Michael I understand, but not Joy D. or New Order come that was an easy one.

  2. Tommy R.

    Two bands that influenced countless artists and musicians in so many facets over the course of the last four decades, but Joy Division / New Order are snubbed? I don’t get it. I really don’t.

  3. When is Little Feat going to make it?
    After Bill dies?

  4. Constantine

    No JD/NO and no Maiden !!!????

    No thanks !

  5. I’m kind of happy JD/NO didn’t make it, It goes along with the image they have created for themselves.

    “You caught me at a bad time, so why don’t you piss off?”

  6. Glad to see Link Ray , get in.
    But why No Joy Division / New Order

  7. In Europe the outcome would have been very, very different.

  8. So glad George Michael got in. He was a master of his craft. Great voice! I really like Kate Bush but I think Stranger Things gave her that push in. It was great placement. Hope mega influencers Joy DivisionNew Order get in next time. After all, you can’t escape all the Joy Division shirts everywhere. But definitely have my doubts that those sporting them know one song.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *