New Releases — June 26, 2023 at 7:01 am

Out this week: The Sound, Andy Partridge, Big Country, Laibach, Durutti Column + more

The Sound

This is a round-up of the week’s new albums, expanded reissues and/or box sets, appearing each Monday on Slicing Up Eyeballs. All releases due out this coming Friday unless noted. May also include some other titles released in recent weeks but not previously featured.


The Sound

RELEASE: The Statik Records Years
DETAILS: Edsel Records this week releases a 5CD box set that collects the U.K. post-punk act’s 1984-1985 output, including the albums Shock of Daylight, Heads and Hearts and In the Hothouse, plus the New Way of Life demos set and more.


The Sound

RELEASE: New Way of Life
DETAILS: The 10-song collection of “lost” demos featured in the new The Statik Records Years box set gets a separate release on 140-gram vinyl. Includes early versions of “Counting the Days,” “Whirlpool” and :Love Is Not a Ghost.”


The 3 Clubmen

RELEASE: The 3 Clubmen EP
DETAILS: XTC’s Andy Partridge has teamed up with Jen Olive and Stu Rowe as The 3 Clubmen, and this week they release their four-song debut. Features the first single “Aviatrix,” plus “Racecar,” “Green Green Grasshopper” and “Look At those Stars.”
BUY: Burning Shed


Big Country

RELEASE: Driving to Damascus: Deluxe Edition
DETAILS: Big Country’s eighth and final album with Stuart Adamson, released in 1999, gets a 4CD deluxe reissue this week, featuring two discs of demos, the live-in-the-studio Nashville Sessions and much more.



RELEASE: Iron Sky: The Coming Race
DETAILS: The Slovenian industrial group returns this week with their latest album: the soundtrack to the “Iron Sky” sequel, called “Iron Sky: The Coming Race.” Laibach provided the score for the first film and is back for the crowd-funded sequel.


The Durutti Column

RELEASE: Time Was GIGANTIC… When We Were Kids
DETAILS: This week sees the release of a remastered and expanded 25th anniversary edition of the Durutti Column’s 1998 album, with expansive liner notes, “revisited” original artwork and five bonus tracks. This was Factory Records’ final release.


The Baseball Project

RELEASE: Grand Salami Time!
DETAILS: The baseball-themed supergroup returns with its fourth album this week. Band includes Young Fresh Fellows’ Scott McCaughey, The Dream Syndicate’s Steve Wynn, R.E.M.’s Peter Buck and Mike Mills, and Linda Pitmon of Filthy Friends.




Slicing Up Eyeballs independently selects all releases featured on this site, but we may earn a commission from products purchased through affiliate links. Those commissions help support and fund the site.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *