Uncategorized — June 27, 2023 at 8:54 am

The Jesus and Mary Chain unveils new live album — hear “Sometimes Always” with Isobell Campbell

The Jesus and Mary Chain | Photo by Steve Gullick

The Jesus and Mary Chain will release a 17-track live album called Sunset 666 this August that was recorded at the Hollywood Palladium during the band’s 2018 tour opening for Nine Inch Nails.

The Mary Chain is previewing the set with a new live version of “Sometimes Always” that features Jim Reid duetting with former Belle & Sebastian singer Isobell Campbell, taking the place of Mazzy Star’s Hope Sandoval, who appeared on the 1994 single. You can hear that below.

Sunset 666 is due out Aug. 4 in digital formats as well as on CD and 180-gram double vinyl, including a black with white spatter pressing limited to 2,000 copies available through Fuzz Club.

The Jesus and Mary Chain also have been working on a new album for some time, with Jim Reid discussing the recording sessions in a late-2019 interview, suggesting the band would be ready to release the follow-up to 2017’s Damage and Joy sometime in 2020 or, at the latest, early 2021.

That, of course, came before the pandemic disrupted life worldwide.

Damage and Joy was the Mary Chain’s seventh album and marked the reunited act’s first collection of new music in nearly 20 years. The band has toured regularly in the ensuing years, most recently playing U.S. dates last fall.

The band currently has three European festival appearances on tap this summer and later in the year.

Below, check out the new live version of “Sometimes Always,” the live album’s tracklist — and tour dates.



Tracklist: The Jesus and Mary Chain, Sunset 666

1. “Just Like Honey”
2. “Sometimes Always” (featuring Isobel Campbell)
3. “Black and Blues” (featuring Isobel Campbell)
4. “Amputation”
5. “All Things Pass”
6. “Some Candy Talking”
7. “Head On”
8. “The Living End”
9. “Cracking Up”
10. “Teenage Lust”
11. “I Hate Rock ‘N’ Roll”
12. “Reverence”
13. “Blues from a Gun”
14. “Far Gone and Out”
15. “Between Planets”
16. “Halfway To Crazy”
17. “In A Hole”

Tracks 1-12 recorded at Hollywood Palladium on Dec. 15, 2018
Tracks 13-17 recorded at Hollywood Palladium on Dec. 11, 2018


The Jesus and Mary Chain tour dates 2023

Aug. 4: South Facing Festival, Crystal Palace Bowl, London, UK
Nov. 17: Primavera Weekender, Benidorm, Spain
Nov. 20: Barezzi Festival, Parma, Italy





Slicing Up Eyeballs independently selects all releases featured on this site, but we may earn a commission from products purchased through affiliate links. Those commissions help support and fund the site.


One Comment

  1. So cool to see Jim Reid and Sammy Hagar hanging out together. Best of both worlds, indeed.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *