Reissues, Vinyl — July 9, 2023 at 5:32 pm

Hear “Cities” off Talking Heads’ upcoming expanded reissue of “Stop Making Sense”

David Byrne and Tina Weymouth in “Stop Making Sense”

As we reported back in March, the classic Talking Heads concert film “Stop Making Sense” is getting a new worldwide 4K theatrical release and an accompanying expanded reissue — and now you can hear one of the two bonus cuts that’ll appear on the soundtrack’s re-release.

Below, you can stream the previously unreleased live version of “Cities” that, along with “Big Business/I Zimbra,” has been added to the soundtrack of Jonathan Demme’s 1984 film.

Rhino will release the new 18-track Stop Making Sense: Deluxe Edition on Aug. 18 in both a limited-edition 2LP vinyl pressing and digitally, along with a Dolby Atmos mix of the full concert mixed by the band’s Jerry Harrison and E.T. Thorngren. The digital release and vinyl edition can be pre-ordered now via

“Cities” and “Big Business/I Zimbra” were included on the original home video release of “Stop Making Sense,” but then removed and relegated instead as bonus tracks in the 1999 re-release and subsequent DVD and video releases. They didn’t appear on the original truncated soundtrack or the 1999 expansion.

The new vinyl pressing will come on two LPs and feature a reproduction of the original booklet from the 1984 limited-edition pressing, with additional pages of never-before-seen photos and new liner notes by David Byrne, Tina Weymouth, Chris Frantz and Jerry Harrison.

Film studio A24, which is handling the new theatrical release, has not announced when that will be in theaters. It’s still listed as “coming soon.”

Check out the live version of “Cities” and the full tracklist below:




Talking Heads, Stop Making Sense

1. “Psycho Killer”
2. “Heaven”
3. “Thank You for Sending Me an Angel”
4. “Found a Job”
5. “Slippery People”
6. “Cities” *
7. “Burning Down the House”
8. “Life During Wartime”
9. “Making Flippy Floppy”
10. “Swamp”
11. “What a Day That Was”
12. “This Must Be the Place (Naïve Melody)”
13. “Once in a Lifetime”
14. “Big Business/I Zimbra” *
15. “Genius of Love”
16. “Girlfriend is Better”
17. “Take Me to the River”
18. “Crosseyed and Painless”

* Previously unreleased





Slicing Up Eyeballs independently selects all releases featured on this site, but we may earn a commission from products purchased through affiliate links. Those commissions help support and fund the site.


One Comment

  1. Sounds great. Just wish we were getting a CD release too.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *