Tributes, Video — July 23, 2023 at 2:54 pm

Dave Gahan covers The Gun Club’s “Mother of Earth” for Jeffrey Lee Pierce tribute

Dave Gahan

Depeche Mode frontman Dave Gahan has contributed a cover of The Gun Club’s “Mother of Earth” — the closing track on 1982’s Miami — for the fourth installment of The Jeffrey Lee Pierce Sessions Project, a long-running tribute to the late frontman of that band.

You can watch the video for Gahan’s cover — featuring Suzie Stapleton on piano and backing vocals, James Johnston on violin, Gavin Jay on bass and Ian White on drums — below.

Gahan’s version of “Mother Earth” will be released on streaming platforms this Friday, and the album The Task Has Overwhelmed Us is out Sept. 29 on Glitterhouse Records; it can be preordered now via

It features, according to the label, “stellar interpretations of tracks from Pierce’s Gun Club and solo canons along with fresh works constructed from rehearsal skeletons, previously unheard lyrics, songs only performed live.” Other artists appearing on the collection include Nick Cave, Debbie Harry, Alejandro Escovedo, the late Mark Lanegan, Lydia Lunch and Jim Jarmusch.

Pierce fronted various lineups of the highly influential Gun Club from 1979 until his death in 1996.

Below, check out Gahan’s cover, the Gun Club original — and the album’s tracklist.




The Jeffrey Lee Pierce Sessions Project, The Task Has Overwhelmed Us

1. “Mother Of Earth” – Dave Gahan
2. “La La Los Angeles” – The Coathangers
3. “Yellow Eyes” – Jeffrey Lee Pierce (feat. Nick Cave & Warren Ellis)
4. “Debbie By The Christmas Tree” – The Amber Lights
5. “Go Tell The Mountain” – Mark Lanegan (feat. Nick Cave & Warren Ellis)
6. “Going Down The Red River” – Jim Jones and the Righteous Mind
7. “The Stranger In Our Town” – Peter Hayes, Leah Shapiro & Humanist
8. “Secret Fires” – Suzie Stapleton (feat. Duke Garwood)
9. “Tiger Girl” – Hugo Race
10. “On The Other Side” – Nick Cave & Debbie Harry
11. “Idiot Waltz” – Cypress Grove
12. “Tiger Girl” – The Amber Lights
13. “From Death To Texas” – Alejandro Escovedo
14. “Vodou” – Mark Stewart
15. “Time Drains Away” – Lydia Lunch, Jozef van Wissem, Jim Jarmusch
16. “Lucky Jim” – Chris Eckman & Chantal Acda
17. “I Was Ashamed” – Pam Hogg (feat. Warren Ellis & Youth)
18. “Bad America” – Sendelica (feat. Wonder & Dynamax Roberts)





Slicing Up Eyeballs independently selects all releases featured on this site, but we may earn a commission from products purchased through affiliate links. Those commissions help support and fund the site.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *