Box Sets, Reissues — August 27, 2023 at 5:08 pm

Listen: The Replacements strip down “Can’t Hardly Wait” with early cello version

The Replacements | Photo by Deborah Feingold

The Replacements’ 1985 major-label debut Tim is getting a 4CD/1LP boxed-set reissue this fall that’s loaded with bonus material, including a brand-new mix of the record and a previously unreleased live set.

Among the unissued material included in the Tim: Let It Bleed Edition: this stripped-down “cello version” of “Can’t Hardly Wait,” a song Paul Westerberg wrote following the band’s 1984 album Let It Be that wouldn’t see official release until it appeared on 1987’s Pleased To Meet Me.

This previously unreleased version features Westerberg playing the song on acoustic guitar with cello accompaniment by Michelle Kinney, who at the time was working as a receptionist in the studio the Replacements were using to record Tim.

“There wasn’t any music written down,” Kinney recalled, according to the band’s publicists. “I do remember watching Paul through the studio window and him talking in my headphones and kind of singing parts for me. He would kind of conduct me, and I’d try to do what he asked. He was being really hilarious and animated and calling me ‘Maestro.’”

Check it out right here:



Rhino will release the 65-track Tim: Let It Bleed Edition on Sept. 22, and it can be pre-ordered via Amazon.

The first two discs of the Let It Bleed Edition feature what’s being called the “definitive mix” of Tim by producer/engineer Ed Stasium — who was a close friend and partner of the album’s original producer, the late Tom Erdelyi, aka Tommy Ramone — and a new remastering of Erdelyi’s original mix.

The third disc, titled Sons of No One: Rare & Unreleased, includes 15 tracks, 11 of which are previously unissued, including “unearthed material” from the band’s January 1985 recording session produced by Big Star’s Alex Chilton. The disc includes alternate takes of “Hold My Life,” “Can’t Hardly Wait” and “Bastards of Young,” plus what Rhino calls “a unique and previously unheard original” called “Havin Fun” that was written by Tommy Stinson and sung by Paul Westerberg.

The fourth disc, Not Ready for Prime Time, features a soundboard recording of a 28-song set recorded live at Chicago’s Cabaret Metro on Jan. 11, 1986 — a one-off date that fell about a week before the band’s appearance on “Saturday Night Live.” It includes performances of the ‘Mats favorites, some deep cuts and a rare lead vocal from the late Stinson on a cover of “The Crusher,” by Minnesota garage rockers The Novas.

And, finally, the box set includes an 180-gram vinyl pressing of the new Stasium mix of Tim.

The box set is packaged in a 12×12 hardcover book, according to Rhino, that includes previously unseen photos and liner notes written by Replacements biographer Bob Mehr. The new cover art is based on a 1985 photo of the band members in their Minneapolis rehearsal space taken by Moshe Brakha.

Below, check out the tracklist:


The Replacements, Tim: Let It Bleed Edition

CD 1: Tim (Ed Stasium Mix)
1. “Hold My Life”
2. “I’ll Buy”
3. “Kiss Me on the Bus”
4. “Dose of Thunder”
5. “Waitress in the Sky”
6. “Swingin Party”
7. “Bastards of Young”
8. “Lay It Down Clown”
9. “Left of the Dial”
10. “Little Mascara”
11. “Here Comes a Regular”

CD 2: Tim (2023 Remaster)
1. “Hold My Life”
2. “I’ll Buy”
3. “Kiss Me on the Bus”
4. “Dose of Thunder”
5. “Waitress in the Sky”
6. “Swingin Party”
7. “Bastards of Young”
8. “Lay It Down Clown”
9. “Left of the Dial”
10. “Little Mascara”
11. “Here Comes a Regular”

CD 3: Sons of No One: Rare & Unreleased
1. “Can’t Hardly Wait” (Acoustic Demo)
2. “Nowhere Is My Home” (Alternate Mix) *
3. “Can’t Hardly Wait” (Electric Demo) [Alternate Mix] *
4. “Left of the Dial” (Alternate Version) *
5. “Nowhere Is My Home” (Alternate Version) *
6. “Can’t Hardly Wait” (Cello Version) *
7. “Kiss Me on the Bus” (Studio Demo)
8. “Little Mascara” (Studio Demo) *
9. “Bastards of Young” (Alternate Version) *
10. “Hold My Life” (Alternate Version) *
11. “Having Fun” *
12. “Waitress in the Sky” (Alternate Version)
13. “Can’t Hardly Wait” (The “Tim” Version) [Alternate Mix] *
14. “Swingin Party” (Alternate Version) *
15. “Here Comes a Regular” (Alternate Version)

CD 4: Not Ready for Prime Time
Live at the Cabaret Metro, Chicago, IL — Jan. 11, 1986
1. “Gary’s Got a Boner” *
2. “Love You ‘Till Friday” *
3. “Bastards of Young” *
4. “Can’t Hardly Wait” *
5. “Answering Machine” *
6. “Little Mascara” *
7. “Color Me Impressed” *
8. “Kiss Me on the Bus” *
9. “Favorite Thing” *
10. “Mr. Whirly” *
11. “Tommy Gets His Tonsils Out” *
12. “I Will Dare” *
13. “Johnny’s Gonna Die” *
14. “Dose of Thunder” *
15. “Takin’ a Ride” *
16. “Hitchin’ a Ride” *
17. “Trouble Boys” *
18. “Unsatisfied” *
19. “Black Diamond” *
20. “Jumpin’ Jack Flash” *
21. “Customer” *
22. “Borstal Breakout” *
23. “Take Me Down to the Hospital” *
24. “Kids Don’t Follow” *
25. “Nowhere Man” *
26. “The Crusher” *
27. “I’m in Trouble” *
28. “Go” *

* Previously unreleased


LP: Ed Stasium Mix

Side A
1. “Hold My Life”
2. “I’ll Buy”
3. “Kiss Me on the Bus”
4. “Dose of Thunder”
5. “Waitress in the Sky”
6. “Swingin Party”

Side B
1. “Bastards Of Young”
2. “Lay It Down Clown”
3. “Left of the Dial”
4. “Little Mascara”
5. “Here Comes a Regular”





Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *