Linkage: Karl Wallinger on World Party, plus Stone Roses, Passions Just Like Mine, Blast First

A collection of some interesting links we recently stumbled across:

Progress Report: World Party In a lengthy Q&A, bandleader Karl Wallinger discusses his new 5CD box set of unreleased material, his debilitating aneurysm  in 2001 (he suggests it had its roots in his childhood oboe playing) and future plans for World Party (” I think we are going to be doing something like a radio tour and hopefully by the end of the year we’ll be doing some shows.”). [Stereogum]

Excerpt from John Robb’s Stone Roses Book U.K. music journalist John Robb has just published “The Stone Roses: The Reunion Edition, an updated version of his 1996 bio of the Madchester band that includes news of the group’s decision last year to reunite for shows this summer. Here you can read an excerpt from the new edition. [Hot Press]

Information Society: In Praise of Passions Just Like Mine and Other Uber-Fan Sites Our friends at The Second Disc mark the loss of Passions Just Like Mine, a once-indispensable resource for fans of The Smiths and Morrissey, and pay tribute to other fan-run specialty sites, and invite readers to do likewise in the comments. [The Second Disc]

How Soon Is Now? Excerpt: The Rise Of Blast First Another book excerpt, this time of Richard King’s “How Soon Is Now?,” which chronicles the U.K.’s independent record labels. This portion deals with Paul Smith’s Blast First label, which signed the likes of Big Black and the Butthole Surfers. [The Quietus]





Tags: , , , ,


About the author

More posts by | Visit the site of Slicing Up Eyeballs




Add a comment