Thompson Twins’ Tom Bailey preps solo debut ‘Science Fiction’ — first new music in 2 decades

Tom Bailey, the former frontman of synthpop pioneers Thomspon Twins, this summer will release his debut solo album and first collection of music under any guise in more than two decades, saying he finds it “incredibly rewarding to be making pop music again.”

The album, entitled Science Fiction, is due out July 13, and can be pre-ordered now in a variety of bundles from PledgeMusic. Recorded around the world on a laptop, the record is produced by Bailey himself with production assistance from Hal Ritson, who has worked with Chemical Brothers and David Guetta.

The record includes the song “Come So Far,” which Bailey released as a standalone single in 2016.

Bailey says the new music was inspired by his decision to begin performing again in 2014:

“I so much enjoyed playing concerts around the world over the last couple of years, that I began working behind the scenes on writing, recording and mixing the songs in this collection.  I have concentrated on other areas of music for the past couple of decades – but I find it incredibly rewarding to be making pop music again.  There’s something so special about the way this kind of music works and, for me, it’s like finding a long-lost friend.”

Bailey is supporting the new album this summer with a previously announced, and quite massive, U.S. amphitheater tour with Boy George & Culture Club and The B-52s.

The new album is Bailey’s first collection of new music since the pair of albums he made in 1994 and 1996 with his post-Thomspon Twins group Babble. Prior to that, Bailey had huge synthpop hits around the world with Thompson Twins throughout the ’80s, including “Hold Me “Now,” “Doctor Doctor,” “Lies,” “In the Name of Love,” “Hold Me Now” and more.

See the tracklist and cover art for the new album — and hear “Come So Far” — below.

Tracklist: Tom Bailey, Science Fiction

1. “Science Fiction”
2. “What Kind Of World”
3. “Shooting Star”
4. “Feels Like Love To Me”
5. “Blue”
6. “If You Need Someone”
7. “Ship Of Fools”
8. “Work All Day”
9. “Bring Back Yesterday”
10. “Come So Far”


Tags: , , ,


About the author

More posts by | Visit the site of Slicing Up Eyeballs


1 Comment



Add a comment