Album News, Tracklist — March 23, 2009 at 10:59 pm

Elvis Costello reteams with T Bone Burnett for ‘Secret’ new Americana record

Elvis Costello, 'Secret, Profane & Sugarcane'

Angry older man Elvis Costello follows up 2008’s quick-turn Momofuku by reteaming with T Bone Burnett, who worked with the rocker on 1986’s King of America and 1989’s Spike.

Secret, Profane & Sugarcane, as the new disc is dubbed, will be released June 2, Costello announced today on his Web site.

Recorded over three days in Nashville, the record features guest turns by notables such as Jerry Douglas, Emmylou Harris, Jim Lauderdale and Burnett himself.

The album includes 10 previously unrecorded songs, including “Sulphur to Sugarcane” and “The Crooked Line,” co-written with Burnett, and “I Felt the Chill,” the second tune Costello has co-written with Loretta Lynn.

The disc also revisits two songs Costello originally wrote for Johnny Cash: “Complicated Shadows,” which originally appeared on 1999’s All This Useless Beauty, and “Hidden Shame,” which appeared in demo form on the expanded edition of that album.

Because of the way the tracklist is split over four sides, vinyl buyers will get two extra tracks, according to Costello’s Web site: “an arrangement of Lou Reed’s ‘Femme Fatale’ and Costello’s sequel to the old Appalachian murder ballad, ‘Omie Wise,’ entitled, ‘What Lewis Did Last.'”

Costello also will release a 7-inch single for Record Store Day on April 18 featuring “Complicated Shadows” and the non-album track “Dirty Rotten Shame.”

He’s also planning to take some of the Nashville musicians who played on the album out on tour for U.S. dates in June and August.

Tracklist: Secret, Profane & Sugarcane

1. “Down Among the Wine and Spirits”
2. “Complicated Shadows”
3. “I Felt the Chill”
4. “My All Time Doll”
5. “Hidden Shame”
6. “She Handed Me a Mirror”
7. “I Dreamed of My Old Lover”
8. “How Deep is the Red”
9. “She Was No Good”
10. “Sulfur to Sugarcane”
11. “Red Cotton”
12. “The Crooked Line”
13. “Changing Partners”

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *