Album News, Reunions, Tracklist, Video — June 19, 2009 at 10:07 pm

Living Colour to release new album, ‘The Chair in the Doorway,’ in September

Living Colour

The hard-rocking Living Colour today announced plans to release its fifth album, The Chair in the Doorway, on Sept. 15, marking the quartet’s second full-length since reuniting in 2000.

The band — featuring original members Corey Glover (presumably sans day-glo wetsuit), Vernon Reid and Will Calhoun, along with Stain-era replacement Doug Wimbish — recorded the 11-track disc in Prague last fall and this past spring.

According to metal imprint Megaforce Records, Doorway features songs that “stretch from the modern soul anthem ‘Behind The Sun’ to the politically charged, heavy rock of ‘DecaDance’ to the sacred steel blues of ‘Bless Those'” (tracklist and video below).

According to Reid:

“We feel like this is the best record we’ve made yet and we couldn’t be more excited to be releasing it with the legendary Megaforce Records. Some of our favorite bands were or are Megaforce artists, Metallica, Bad Brains, Anthrax, Black Crowes, so it’s an honor to be part of a label with a great legacy.”

The band — famously marketed as an alternative act in the late ’80s because nobody else knew what to make of four black guys doing all-out guitar rock — is plotting a world tour that’s expected to begin in September, although dates have not yet been announced. The trek will take the band across North and South America, as well as Europe, Australia and Asia.

Tracklist: Living Colour, The Chair in the Doorway

1. “Burned Bridges”
2. “The Chair”
3. “DecaDance”
4. “Young Man”
5.  “Method”
6.  “Behind The Sun”
7.  “Bless Those”
8.  “Hard Times”
9.  “Taught Me”
10. “Out Of Mind”
11. “Not Tomorrow”

Video: Living Colour, “DecaDance,” Leverkusener Jazztage, Germany, 11/3/08


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *