Album News, Tracklist — July 15, 2009 at 3:01 pm

Lou Barlow releasing ‘Goodnight Unknown,’ opening for himself on Dinosaur Jr tour

Lou Barlow, 'Goodnight Unknown'

When not playing in Sebadoh, Folk Implosion or the reconstituted Dinosaur Jr, lo-fi pioneer Lou Barlow likes to occasionally record under his own name, and, in that vein, he recently completed Goodnight Unknown, his first solo effort since 2005’s Emoh.

The 14-track album, out Oct. 6 on Merge Records, was produced by Andrew Murdock, and features New Folk Implosion sideman Imaad Wasif and the Melvins’ Dale Crover on drums (see full tracklist below).

Barlow, who rejoined Dinosaur Jr and reissued the first three Sebadoh albums since he recorded Emoh, describes the new album, in a press release, as “a cross between my later work with Folk Implosion and my earlier work with Sebadoh… to my ears anyway.”

The new songs will get a live airing this fall when Barlow does double duty, borrowing Mike Watt’s backup band, The Missingmen, and opening for Dinosaur Jr (see dates here).

Tracklist: Lou Barlow, Goodnight Unknown

1. “Sharing”
2. “Goodnight Unknown”
3. “Too Much Freedom”
4. “Faith In Your Heartbeat”
5. “The One I Call”
6. “The Right”
7. “Gravitate”
8. “I’m Thinking…”
9. “One Machine, One Long Fight”
10. “Praise”
11. “Take Advantage”
12. “Modesty”
13. “Don’t Apologize”
14. “One Note Tone”


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *