Reissues, Tracklist — September 10, 2009 at 4:46 pm

Hurrah! debut ‘Tell God I’m Here’ reissued in expanded edition with early singles

Hurrah!, circa 1989

The debut album from near-forgotten British indie-pop act Hurrah! — 1987’s Tell God I’m Here — will be reissued later this month with a second disc featuring early singles and b-sides, previously unreleased tracks and cuts from the band’s second album, 1989’s The Beautiful.

Due out Sept. 21 in the UK on Cherry Red Records, this second reissue of Tell God I’m Here — a less-comprehensive expanded edition was released in Japan in 2000 — features a remastered version of the 10-track album on one disc, and a 16-track second disc featuring, among other things, early singles “The Sun Shines Here,” “Hip Hip,” “Who’dve Thought” and “Gloria,” all previously compiled on 1985’s Boxed.

Formed in the early ’80s by singer-guitarists Paul Handyside and David “Taffy” Hughes, the jangle-pop outfit was one of the first acts signed to Ktichenware Records, and was perhaps most notable for opening a few dates on U2’s Joshua Tree tour and having its 1986 single “Sweet Sanity” arouse controversy for featuring two women holding hands. Hurrah! never quite broke through, and split after recording a third album in 1991 that was never released.

See full tracklist and “Sweet Sanity” video after the jump…

Hurrah!, 'Tell God I'm Here'

Tracklist: Tell God I’m Here: Expanded Edition

Disc 1
1. “I Would If I Could”
2. “Better Time”
3. “Sweet Sanity”
4. “Who Wants To Live By Love Alone”
5. “Walk In The Park”
6. “How Many Rivers”
7. “If Love Could Kill”
8. “Miss The Kiss”
9. “How High The Moon”
10. “Mr. Sorrowful”

Disc 2
1. “Intro Tape”
2. “The Sun Shines Here” (1st single April 1982)
3. “I’ll Be Your Surprise” (1st single April 1982)
4. “Don’t Need Food” (Unreleased)
4. “Hip Hip” (2nd single January 1983)
5. “Flowers” (B-Side “Hip Hip”)
6. “If It Rains” (Unreleased)
7. “Who’dve Thought” (3rd single June 1983)
8. “Celtic” (B-Side “Who’dve Thought”)
9, “Gloria” (4th single: Produced by Jimmy Miller)
10. “Funny Day” (B-side “Gloria”)
11. “Suffer And See” (unreleased demo 1985)
12. “Big Sky” (From The Beautiful)
13. “Let It Be Her” (From The Beautiful)
14. “Wisdom Waits” (From The Beautiful)
15. “Velveteen” (From The Beautiful)
16. “She Said” (From The Beautiful)

Video: Hurrah!, “Sweet Sanity”

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *