Reissues, Tracklist — November 20, 2009 at 10:53 pm

Duran Duran spinoff Arcadia reissuing ‘So Red the Rose’ as 2CD/1DVD set in February

Arcadia, circa 1985

The lone album from Arcadia — the mid-’80s, studio-only Duran Duran spinoff that scored a Top 10 hit with “Election Day” — will be reissued early next year in an expanded 2CD/1DVD package featuring 19 bonus tracks and all of the short-lived group’s music videos.

Due out Feb. 8 in the UK, the new edition of 1985’s So Red the Rose features the original nine-track album plus seven bonus cuts on the first CD, including remixes and B-sides from the album’s four singles, plus the non-album single “Say the Word” from the soundtrack to the long-forgotten 1986 comedy “Playing for Keeps.” UPDATE 1/6/10: Release date push back to April.

A second CD features 12 more remixes, while the accompanying 10-track DVD features the music videos for “Election Day,” “The Promise,” “Goodbye is Forever,” “The Flame” and “Missing,” plus making-of vignettes for each clip. (See full tracklist below).

Arcadia, like Power Station, splintered off from Duran Duran at the height of that band’s popularity, with Simon Le Bon, Nick Rhodes and Roger Taylor recording So Red the Rose. The trio received all-star assistance on the record, which features guest turns by the likes of Pink Floyd’s David Gilmour, Sting, Grace Jones and Herbie Hancock.

By 1986, despite the success of both Arcadia and Power Station, the core of Duran Duran — Le Bon, Rhodes and John Taylor, who had joined Andy Taylor in Power Station — reformed to record Notorious.

See full tracklist for Arcadia’s ‘So Red the Rose’ after the jump…

Arcadia, 'So Red the Rose'

Tracklist: Arcadia, So Red the Rose

CD 1:
1. “Election Day”
2. “Keep Me In The Dark”
3. “Goodbye Is Forever”
4. “The Flame”
5. “Missing”
6. “Rose Arcana”
7. “The Promise”
8. “El Diablo”
9. “Lady Ice”
10. “Say The Word [Theme from ‘Playing For Keeps’]” – 7″ Edit
11. “She Moody And Grey, She’s Mean And Restless”
12. “Election Day” – Single Version
13. “Goodbye Is Forever” – Single Remix
14. “The Promise” – 7″ Mix
15. “The Flame” – 7″ Remix
16. “Say The Word” [Theme from ‘Playing For Keeps’] – Soundtrack Version

CD 2:
1. “Election Day” – Consensus Mix
2. “Goodbye Is Forever” – 12″ Extended Vocal Mix
3. “The Promise” – Extended Version
4. “Rose Arcana” – Extended
5. “The Flame” – Extended Remix
6. “Say The Word” [Theme from ‘Playing For Keeps’] – Extended Vocal Remix
7. “Election Day” – Cryptic Cut
8. “The Promise” – 12″ Mix
9. “Goodbye Is Forever” – Dub Mix
10. “Say The Word” [Theme from ‘Playing For Keeps’] – Extended Instrumental Remix
11. “Election Day” – Early Rough Mix
12. “Flame Game” – Yo Homeboy Mix

1. Filming “Election Da”‘ – Paris, France. September 1985.
2. “Election Day” – Directed by Roger Christian, Produced by Chrissie Smith
3. Filming “The Promise” – Cote D’Azur, France. December 1985.
4. “The Promise” – Directed by Marcelo Anciano, Produced by Ruth Orme
5. Filming “Goodbye Is Forever” – London, England. January 1986
6. “Goodbye Is Forever” – Directed by Marcelo Anciano, Produced by Ruth Orme
7. Filming “The Flame” – London Docklands. April 1986.
8. “The Flame” – Directed by Russell Mulcahy, Produced by Chrissie Smith
9. Filming “Missing” – London, England. December 1986.
10. “Missing” – Directed by Dean Chamberlain


One Comment

  1. Arcadia do it again with EMI-Records
    “So red the Rose”: Essential Collection
    Thank You for a Best Band of Decades

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *