Anniversary, Reissues, Tracklist, Video — November 20, 2009 at 12:13 am

The Clash’s ‘London Calling’ 30th anniversary reissue skimpier than 25th anniversary set

The Clash

There was a bit of a hubub a few weeks ago when the NME reported that  The Clash’s classic 1979 double album London Calling would receive a new 30th anniversary reissue in December — just five years after the release of a bonus-packed 25th anniversary edition.

While some fans griped about being conned into re-buying the album yet again if they wanted to get their mitts on new bonus material (especially if it ended up including a much-coveted vintage live album), it turns out the new version actually will feature less material than the expansive 2004 reissue.

That 25th anniversary set — which arrived four years after the first reissue of London Calling — featured two CDs and a DVD: the original album, remastered, on one disc, and The Vanilla Tapes, a 21-track collection of studio demos, on a second disc. The DVD featured Don Letts’ documentary “The Last Testament: The Making of London Calling” (see video below), a trio of music videos and some home-movie footage of the band.

And the 30th anniversary edition, due out Dec. 14 (exactly 30 years to the day after London Calling’s original release)? It just features the original album plus that DVD, in replica vinyl sleeves, with a 20-page book also included. No new extras, nor even the Vanilla Tapes bonus disc. Sony is basically putting the 25th anniversary set back into print, in a slimmed-down version, with a new title.

See full ‘London Calling’ tracklist and ‘The Last Testament’ video after the jump…

The Clash, 'London Calling: 30th Anniversary Edition'

Tracklist: The Clash, London Calling: 30th Anniversary Edition


1. “London Calling”
2. “Brand New Cadillac”
3. “Jimmy Jazz”
4. “Hateful”
5. “Rudie Can’t Fail”
6. “Spanish Bombs”
7. “The Right Profile”
8. “Lost In The Supermarket”
9. “Clampdown”
10. “The Guns Of Brixton”
11. “Wrong ‘Em Boyo”
12. “Death Or Glory”
13. “Koka Kola”
14. “The Card Cheat”
15. “Lover’s Rock”
16. “Four Horsemen”
17. “I’m Not Down”
18. “Revolution Rock”
19. “Train In Vain”


1. “The Last Testament: The Making of London Calling” documentary
2. “London Calling” music video
3. “Train in Vain” music video
4. “Clampdown” music video
5. Home video footage of The Clash recording in Wessex Studios

VIDEO: “The Last Testament: The Making of London Calling,” parts 1-3


One Comment

  1. I don’t care about the bonus junk, I just want to know which one sounds better. I’m speaking of the vinyl version, of course. Wish I could find a review.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *