Album News, Digital Music, Tracklist — December 14, 2009 at 6:07 pm

The Everybody: Pixies’ Joey Santiago, David Lovering let fans remix debut album ‘Avatar’

David Lovering and Joey Santiago of The Everybody

Perhaps tired of waiting for a chance to record a new Pixies album, guitarist Joey Santiago and drummer David Lovering have formed a new band called The Everybody and are inviting fans to “remix, re-imagine and re-invent” the songs from their debut album — and even sell the new tunes, royalty-free.

Out now, the nine-track Avatar — apparently not a soundtrack to Jim Cameron’s new movie about jungle Smurfs — is available in multiple digital formats (and can be streamed in its entirety after the jump), including 320 kbps MP3s with an iTunes LP package that allows users to live-mix one of the tracks, for just $4; and an expanded lossless package that includes the full album in Apple Lossless or FLAC format, plus a 320 kbps MP3 copy, two bonus tracks and the iTunes LP package, all for $10

The real innovation, however, is the deluxe version: For $40, fans get the expanded lossless package, plus royalty-free “stems” in WAV format under a Creative Commons license that allows them the legal right to not only create new songs and mixes, but to sell the music without paying royalties back to Santiago and Lovering.

On top of that, fans can submit their creations to Lovering and Santiago via SoundCloud for possible inclusion on The Everybody Else, the second side of a gatefold vinyl album planned for release in the spring. As the band’s site states, “Joey and David are The Everybody. The artists who create new work with these stems are Everybody Else.”

The album can be purchased here.

Hear the Everybody’s ‘Avatar’ and see a video preview after the jump…

The Everybody, 'Avatar'

Tracklist: The Everybody, Avatar

1. “Surf Spy”
2. “You Got That”
3. “Stranger in Hawaii”
4. “Who Loves The Sun”
5. “Lonely Cholo”
6. “Double Agent”
7. “Marooned”
8. “Concrete”
9. “Waterfall Ahead”


One Comment

  1. this album is too short.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *