Album News — December 18, 2009 at 4:57 pm

U2 ‘Artificial Horizon’ fan club CD features 13 remixes by likes of Trent Reznor, Jacknife Lee

U2, 'Artificial Horizon'

U2 today announced that its upcoming fan club CD will be titled Artificial Horizon and will feature 13 remixes of the band’s latter-period work by the likes of Trent Rreznor and David Holmes — including some that haven’t been released previously.

Although the band hasn’t yet released the full tracklist, it did reveal, in an e-mail to fans, that the disc will include Reznor’s remix of “Vertigo,” Jacknife Lee’s mix of How to Dismantle an Atomic Bomb outtake “Fast Cars,” Holmes’ remix of “Beautiful Day,” in addition to mixes of “Staring at the Sun,” “City of Blinding Lights” and “If God Will Send His Angels.”

Not available in stores, the disc — a sequel of sorts to 1995’s fan-club Melon remix CD — will be sent to fans who sign up for or renew their $50 membership for 2010. The new remix disc is the latest in a series of exclusive releases, including ZOO TV Live and Go Home: Live From Slane Castle, Ireland. Subscription details are here.

UPDATE 12/22/09: The full tracklist was posted by today. The Artificial Horizon CDs will be mailed to subscribers in late January (fans will be e-mailed when it ships).

UPDATE: 3/17/10: U2 is releasing Artificial Horizon on vinyl. Details here.

See full tracklist for U2’s ‘Artificial Horizon’ after the jump…

Tracklist: U2, Artificial Horizon

1. “Elevation” (Influx Mix)
2. “Fast Cars” (Jacknife Lee Mix)
3. “Get On Your Boots” (Fish Out Of Water Mix)*
4. “Vertigo” (Trent Reznor Remix)
5. “Magnificent” (Falke Radio Mix)**
6. “I’ll Go Crazy If I Don’t Go Crazy Tonight” (Live U2360 Remix)*
7. “Beautiful Day” (David Holmes Remix)
8. “Staring at the Sun” (Monster Truck Remix)
9. “Happiness is a Warm Gun” (Danny Saber Mix)
10. “Get On Your Boots” (Justice Remix)
11. “City Of Blinding Lights” (Hot Chip 2006 Remix)*
12. “If God Will Send His Angels” (Grand Jury Mix)
13. “Staring at the Sun” (Brothers in Rhythm Ambient Mix)**

*Previously unreleased
**Previously promo-only



  1. not “Starting at the sun”, it’s “Staring at the sun”

  2. Ha, funny thing is, that tracklist — misspellings and all — was cut-and-pasted straight from Which, I just checked, still lists the song as “Starting at the Sun.”

  3. is there anyway to get this cd or to downloaded it

  4. This is an album U stole from U2. I’m stealing it back!

  5. Pingback: Justice, Hot Chip, and Everyone and their Mother Covers U2 > MTV Iggy Blog > MTV Iggy - Global Pop Culture, Latest Trends and New Music

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *