Video, Vintage Video — December 30, 2009 at 6:36 am

Vintage Video: The Replacements’ complete 1981 Twin/Tone showcase in Minneapolis

This has been around for some time, but it’s certainly worth sharing for fans who haven’t seen it: The Replacements, in all of their early glory, playing a label showcase put on by Minneapolis’ Twin/Tone Records at the 7th Street Entry on Sept. 5, 1981. The ‘Mats, who had released Sorry Ma, Forgot to Take Out the Trash earlier that year, played two 25-minute sets before Hüsker Dü closed the show. The pro-shot video is available for download on Twin/Tone’s website, but we’ve assembled the whole concert, in order, as a YouTube playlist above. Enjoy the show.

See full setlist for The Replacements’ 9/5/81 show after the jump…

Setlist: The Replacements, 7th Street Entry, Minneapolis, 9/5/81

Set 1
1. “Takin’ a Ride”
2. “Staples in Her Stomach”
3. “Careless”
4. “Goddamn Job”
5. “Junior’s Got a Gun”
6. “Something to Du”
7. “Kids Don’t Follow”
8. “D.E.A.D.”
9. “”Love You Till Friday”
10. “Raised in the City”
11. “Shutup”
12. “Johnny’s Gonna Die”

Set 2
1. “Kick Your Door Down”
2. “Dope Smokin’ Moron”
3. “Skip It”
4. “Maybelline”
5. “I Hate Music”
6. “Stuck in the Middle”
7. “Otto”
8. “I’m In Trouble”
9. “Don’t Ask Why”
10. “Customer”
11. “Rattlesnake”
12. “Slow Down”
13. “Hey Good Lookin'”


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *