Album News, DVD, Setlist — January 10, 2010 at 11:32 am

Pet Shop Boys to release ‘Pandemonium’ live CD and concert DVD in February

Pet Shop Boys' Pandemonium Tour

The Pet Shop Boys next month will commemorate their Pandemonium world tour with the release of a live CD/DVD package that captures the trek’s final, hits-laden concert late last month at London’s O2 Arena.

The duo hasn’t yet released a tracklist for the package, or indicated whether it will include the complete 25-song set from the Dec. 21 concert, which featured PSB classics such as “Suburbia,” “It’s a Sin,” “Domino Dancing” and “West End Girls,” plus covers of Madness’ “My Girl” and Coldplay’s “Viva la Vida” (see full setlist and video clips below).

Due out in February, according to PSB’s Twitter feed, the set will be available on both CD and DVD, and as a joint CD/DVD package; the audio also will be sold as a digital download. The film is being made by David Barnard, who directed the Pet Shop Boys’ “Cubism,” a document of a 2006 concert in Mexico City. Producer/remixer Stuart Price, who helped provide music for the tour, is producing the soundtrack.

A review of the Pandemonium tour in The Times notes, “Uneasy with live performance for much of their 25-year career, the Pet Shop Boys have finally got the formula right with this sense-swamping, brainy-pop spectacular.”


“Crucially, (Neil) Tennant and (Chris) Lowe have also retooled their songbook, transforming brittle, electro ditties into palatial disco-pop anthems with extra percussive wallop and lush multi-track vocals. From archive classics — including ‘Left to My Own Devices’ and ‘Suburbia,’ to the current single ‘All Over the World’ — the music was overwhelmingly warm and hedonistic, highlighting the band’s euphoric party side over their more sardonic, melancholy moods.”

The London concert ended with a performance of “It Doesn’t Often Snow at Christmas,” a PSB track originally released as a fan club holiday single in 1997 but resurrected for the duo’s current ChristmasEP.

See full setlist and video from Pet Shop Boys’ O2 Arena concert after the jump…

Setlist: Pet Shop Boys, O2 Arena, London, 12/21/09

1. “Heart”
2. “Did You See Me Coming?”
3. “Can You Forgive Her?”/”Pandemonium”
4. “Love Etc.”
5. “Building A Wall”
6. “Go West”
7. “Two Divided By Zero”
8. “Why Don’t We Live Together?”
9. “New York City Boy”
10. “Always On My Mind”
11. “Closer to Heaven”/”Left to My Own Devices”
12. “Do I Have To?”
13. “Kings Cross”
14. “The Way It Used To Be”
15. “Jealousy”
16. “Suburbia”
17. “What Have I Done To Deserve This?”
18. “All Over The World”
19. “Se A Vida É Play ”
20. “Viva La Vida”/”Domino Dancing”
21. “It’s A Sin”

22. “Being Boring”
23. “My Girl”
24. “West End Girls”

Encore 2:
25. “It Doesn’t Often Snow At Christmas”


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *