Album News — February 5, 2010 at 10:58 am

Help compile XTC’s ‘Bric-a-Brac Breakfast,’ sequel to 1990’s ‘Rag & Bone Buffet’

XTC, circa 1982

Andy Partridge is asking fans what he should include on Bric-a-Brac Breakfast, a forthcoming companion to XTC’s 1990 odds-and-sods collection Rag & Bone Buffet: Rare Cuts & Leftovers, which itself is being prepped for a reissue this year on the bandleader’s Ape House Records.

Writing on Ape’s blog, Partridge says XTC is planning to reissue the 24-track Rag & Bone Buffet — which collected b-sides, BBC sessions and tracks by side projects The Three Wise Men and The Colonel — with “lots of new notes, photos and a sparkling remaster job.” Furthermore, “we also think there is a sister volume to be found. Yes, another herd of b-sides, extra tracks or odious oddities that found themselves escaped into the wider world and we’d like your help in rounding them up.”

To that end, Partridge is asking fans what “you would like brought back from the grave.” To be considered, the songs must not appear on Rag & Bone Buffet or be found “sitting snug on a regular album somewhere.” A few tracks already have been selected, including “Spiral” and “Say It” (the two new tracks included on 2005’s Apple Box), as well as “Where Did the Ordinary People Go?” (a digital-only single also released in 2005). Partridge also asks, “The 12-inch remix of ‘King for a Day,’ anyone?”

Submit your suggestions for Bric-a-Brac Breakfast in this thread on Ape’s forums.



  1. Michael Richard Just

    I’d like to add to the compilation the tune, “Blame The Weather” because I have it on vinyl and have no turntable. So, it’s a greatly underplayed XTC tune. It’s haunting and loaded wth XTC wisdom. THANK YOU!!!

  2. Clay Whitehead

    How about the theme to the US TV show “Wonderfalls?”

  3. There’s still some live material that was only available on their singles that should finally see release on a newer format.One that comes to mind especially is a rousing version of “I’ll Set Myself On Fire”.

  4. lettucealone

    Got to include “Cherry In Your Tree” from the hard to find “Where In The World Is Carmen Sandiego” childrens collection!

  5. larrythefatcat

    I definitely agree with “Cherry in Your Tree” it’s a great little ditty. “Wonderfalls” is another one that’ll hopefully be included, even though it’s considered a solo Andy tune (who knows, maybe there’ll be a ninth Fuzzy Warbles).

    As for “Blame the Weather”, it was included on the initial “Rag ‘n’ Bone Buffet” so there’s little chance it’ll be included on “Bric-a-Brac Breakfast”…

    And about the ‘rousing’ version of “I’ll Set Myself On Fire”, to what version are you referring? The only version I can ever remember hearing is the album version (or at least the version that’s included on one of the initial XTC CD re-releases) but I guess there’s probably a version on the “Transistor Blast” set… I can’t remember offhand!

    • Gary Maiullo

      Hi there.
      I didn’t post the original comment about “Set Myself On Fire”, but I’m sure the version that Mark is referring to is one of the tracks included with the UK double-single “Towers Of London”. There’s also a very cool live version of “Battery Brides” from the same double-single set. Of course, the version of “Scissor Man” from that single set is on Rag & Bone Buffet.

      ALSO, would like the original B-side mix of “Heaven Is Paved With Broken Glass” included (which is completely different to the mix from Rag & Bone Buffet).

  6. I would like to see the remaining or missing Session tracks that were left off of Transistor Blast.

  7. In deference to the mighty Dave Gregory, I’s like to see some of his wonderful covers on Bric-a-Brac. Andy saw fit to include “Strawberry Fields Forever”on Fuzzie Warbles, why not a few more? Thanks for asking.

  8. Please include ‘Down A Peg’.

  9. the alternate and slower version of Heaven… ( Ball&chain b-side) must absolutely be added too !

  10. Living In a Haunted Heart for sure.

  11. 1. Spiral
    2. Say It
    3. Homo Safari (1-6)
    4. The Troubles
    5. I Wonder Why The Wonderfalls
    6. I Don’t Want To Be Here
    7. Strawberry Fields Forever
    8. Car Out Of Control
    9. Rip Van Ruben
    10. Sargasso Bar
    11. Shore Leave Ornithology
    12. The Somnabulist (maybe a 2012 version?)
    13. Toys
    14. Quicksilver
    15. Take This Town
    16. King For A Day (12″ Version)
    17. Cherry In Your Tree
    18. I’m Unbecome
    19. My Train Is Coming
    20. Ship Trapped In The Ice

  12. Could add Saturn Boy, Us Being Us, Everything’ll Be Alright, Noun Verbs and The Forgotten Language Of Light to the list as well.

  13. Also, how could I forget:

    Black Jewelled Serpent Of Sound
    Susan Revolving
    Nicely Nicely Jane (ok, they are from the Dukes….)

  14. Need to include tissue tigers,where do the ordinary people go.

  15. Not to be the spoiler of the bunch, but man, the world does not need anymore compilations of Xtc. Everything extant is available in one form or another all ready. Too many fuzzy warbles sez I. Much prefer NEW Xtc. Come on, Colin & Andy. Pop music needs you more than ever. Show the upstarts how it is done.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *