Album News, Reissues, Tracklist — April 7, 2010 at 10:44 pm

Modern English preps new album ‘Soundtrack,’ issuing ‘Stop Start’ on CD for first time

Modern English's Robbie Grey

There’s a flurry of activity on tap from Modern English next month as the British New Wave act releases Soundtrack — its seventh studio album and first batch of new songs in 14 years — and issues 1986’s Stop Start on CD for the first time.

Due out May 24 on Darla Records, Soundtrack features 11 songs from frontman Robbie Grey (left) and his new cast of sidemen recorded at England’s Chapel Studios and produced by Hugh Jones, who oversaw the band’s 1982 album After the Snow and its smash single “I Melt With You.” All 11 tracks can be sampled here, while first single “It’s OK” can be purchased as download here.

Before the new album arrives, however, Wounded Bird Records will reissue the band’s fourth record, Stop Start, on May 4. The nine-track album, previously only available on cassette and vinyl, is not being repackaged with any bonus tracks.

See full tracklists for ‘Soundtrack’ and ‘Stop Start’ after the jump…

Modern English, 'Soundtrack'

Tracklist: Modern English, Soundtrack

1. “It’s OK”
2. “Blister”
3. “Bomb”
4. “Soundtrack”
5. “Call Me”
6. “Here Comes the Failure”
7. “The Lowdown”
8. “Up Here in the Brain”
9. “Deep Sea Diver”
10. “Antique Furniture”
11. “Fin”

Modern English, 'Stop Start'

Tracklist: Modern English, Stop Start

1. “The Border”
2. “Ink And Paper”
3. “Night Train”
4. “I Don’t Know The Answer”
5. “Love Breaks Down”
6. “Breaking Away”
7. “The Greatest Show”
8. “Love Forever”
9. “Start Stop Stop Start”

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *