New Releases — May 3, 2010 at 7:16 am

New releases: New albums from Mike Patton, Alien Sex Fiend; plus John Foxx compilation

Record Rack: A round-up of the week’s new albums, expanded reissues and/or box sets, appearing each Monday on Slicing Up Eyeballs.

Mike Patton, 'Mondo Cane'ARTIST: Mike Patton
RELEASE: Mondo Cane
BACKSTORY: The once and current Faith No More frontman this week delivers his third proper solo album, which finds him singing in Italian over a 30-piece orchestra. The 11-track disc was recorded at various European concerts, and includes traditional Italian pop songs and a cover of Ennio Morricone’s “Deep Down.”
BUY IT: Mondo Cane via

Alien Sex Fiend, 'Death Trip'ARTIST: Alien Sex Fiend
RELEASE: Death Trip
BACKSTORY: The long-running goth act this week drops its 13th studio album — and first in six years — featuring 10 original songs such as “Land of the Living Dead,” “Beyond a Psychic Evil” and “Oops! Wrong Planet.” The album also will released on limited-edition vinyl (just 666 copies), each hand numbered by Nik Fiend.
BUY IT: Death Trip via

John Foxx, 'Metatronic'ARTIST: John Foxx
RELEASE: Metatronic
BACKSTORY: The former Ultravox singer this week marks the 30th anniversary of the release of his solo debut Metamatic with a new 2CD/1DVD retrospective that features 21 singles, remixes and other cuts chosen by Foxx — including “No One Driving,” “This City,” “Burning Car” and a new mix of his first single, “Underpass,” by Mark Reeder.
BUY IT: Metatronic via

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *