Album News, Reunions, Tracklist — June 24, 2010 at 6:10 am

OMD’s ‘History of Modern’ tracklist, box set unveiled; release set for Sept. 20

Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark, circa 2009

Classic British synthpop unit Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark this week unveiled the tracklist, announced details of a Peter Saville-designed, limited-edition box set and set a September release date for History of Modern, the reformed band’s first new album in 14 years.

Due out Sept. 20 in the U.K., History of Modern is OMD’s first album since 1996’s Universal and its first with its classic lineup — co-founders Andy McCluskey and Paul Humphreys, plus Martin Cooper and Malcolm Holmes — since 1986’s The Pacific Age. The album features two variations of the title track, plus the finished version of the demo OMD gave away for free late last year, which apparently has been retitled from “Sister Marie Says” to “Sister Mary Says” (see full tracklist below).

The album also will be released in a limited-edition box set with packaging by the famed designer Saville; the set includes the album on CD and double LP (the vinyl is exclusive to the box set), a DVD/book pack with making-of footage and the “written story of History of Modern“; a CD of demo tracks; a 12-inch picture book with artwork of the band; a 12-inch artwork print; and a T-shirt. The box set costs £50 (about $75) and can be ordered here.

OMD  last month announced a fall European tour that opens with eight U.K. shows beginning Oct. 29, followed by seven more concerts in Germany as well as dates in Luxembourg, Belgium, The Netherlands and France.

Tracklist: Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark, History of Modern

1.” New Babies: New Toys”
2. “If You Want It”
3. “History Of Modern (Part I)”
4. “History Of Modern (Part II)”
5. “Sometimes”
6. “RFWK”
7. “New Holy Ground”
8. “The Future, The Past, and Forever After”
9. “Sister Mary Says”
10. “Pulse”
11. “The Night”
12. “Bondage Of Fate”
13. “The Right Side?”


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *