Reissues, Tracklist — June 30, 2010 at 7:35 am

The Teardrop Explodes’ ‘Kilimanjaro,’ Julian Cope’s ‘Floored Genius 2’ set for reissue

The Teardrop Explodes

The debut album from Julian Cope’s neo-psychedelic band The Teardrop Explodes — 1980’s Kilimanjaro — is due to receive an expansive 3CD reissue next month, along with Cope’s 1993 compilation of post-Teardrop recordings entitled Floored Genius 2: Best of the BBC Sessions 1983-1991.

Due out July 12 in the U.K., the 35-track Kilimanjaro: Deluxe Edition — featuring new sleevenotes by Cope, bandmate Dave Balfe and longtime publicist Mick Houghton — easily one-ups the 2000 reissue of the album, which featured a mere six bonus tracks.

The new edition restores the album’s original 11-track running order on the first disc (it was modified after release, most notably by adding post-album hit single “Reward”), and features a second CD with 14 contemporaneous singles and B-sides and a third disc with 11 tracks recorded at the BBC in 1979 and 1980 (see full tracklist below).

Cope formed the Teardrop Explodes following a short stint in Crucial Three, a band that also featured future Echo & The Bunnymen frontman Ian McCulloch. The Kilimanjaro track “Books” was actually a Crucial Three song, and also was recorded by the Bunnymen as “Read it in Books,” the B-side to their debut single, “The Pictures on My Wall.”

Following the dissolution of the Teardrop Explodes in 1982, Cope embarked on a solo career. Over the years, he’s compiled his own work with the Floored Genius series, and, on July 6, he reissues Floored Genius 2 with a new second disc featuring 13 more BBC recordings — including a version of his solo hit “World Shut Your Mouth” — recorded between 1983 and 1991 (see full tracklist below).

The Floored Genius re-release is just the latest in the ongoing expanded reissue campaign from Cope, who earlier this year put out a deluxe edition of 1991’s Peggy Suicide, and last year issued a two-disc edition of 1992’s Jehovahkill.

See ‘Kilimanjaro’ and ‘Floored Genius 2’ tracklists after the jump…

The Teardrop Explodes, 'Kilimanjaro: Deluxe Edition'

Tracklist: The Teardrop Explodes, Kilimanjaro: Deluxe Edition

Disc 1: Original album
1. “Ha Ha I’m Drowning”
2. “Sleeping Gas”
3. “Treason”
4. “Second Head”
5. “Poppies”
6. “Went Crazy”
7. “Brave Boys Keep Their Promises”
8. “Bouncing Babies”
9. “Books”
10. “Thief Of Baghdad”
11. “When I Dream”

Disc 2: Singles, B-sides, etc.
1. “Reward”
2. “Sleeping Gas”
3. “Camera Camera”
4. “Kirby Workers Dream Fades” (7-inch version)
5. “Bouncing Babies” (7-inch version)
6. “All I Am Is Loving You” (7-inch version)
7. “Treason” (single version)
8. “Read It In Books”
9. “Kilimanjaro”
10. “Strange House In The Snow” (7-inch version)
11. “Use Me”
12. “Traison (C’Est Juste Une Histoire)”
13. “Sleeping Gas” (live version)

Disc 3: BBC Sessions
1. “Brave Boys Keep Their Promises” *
2. “Ha Ha I’m Drowning” *
3. “Went Crazy” *
4. “Chance” *
5. “Thief Of Baghdad” *
6. “When I Dream” *
7. “The Poppies In The Field” *
8. “Reward” **
9. “Suffocate” **
10. “For Years “**
11. “The Great Dominions” **

*BBC Session Peel Plus 1979
**Mike Read Session 10/27/80

Julian Cope, 'Floored Genius 2'

Tracklist: Julian Cope, Floored Genius 2: Best of the BBC Sessions 1983-1991.

Disc 1
1. “The Greatness & Perfection Of Love”
2. “Head Hang Low”
3. “Hey High Class Butcher”
4. “Sunspots”
5. “Me Singing”
6. “Hobby”
7. “24a. Velocity Crescent”
8. “Laughing Boy”
9. “O King Of Chaos”
10. “Reynard The Fox”
11. “Pulsar”
12. “Crazy Farm Animal”
13. “Christmas Mourning”
14. “Planet Rider: Transmitting”
15. “Soul Medley”
+ “Free Your Mind And Your Ass Will Follow”
+ “Are You Hung Up?”
+ “Hung Up And Hanging Out To Dry”
16. “You Think It’s Love”
17. “Double Vegetation”

Disc 2
1. “Lunatic & Fire Pistol”
2. “Disaster”
3. “Shot Down”
4. “World Shut Your Mouth”
5. “Saint Julian”
6. “Trampolene”
7. “Ballad Of King Plank”
8. “Robert Mitchum”
9. “The Mystery Trend”
10. “Hanging Out And Hung Up On The Line”
11. “Double Vegetation”
12. “East Easy Rider”
13. “Passionate Friend”

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *